call to the billfish brigade
Page 1 of 5 12345 LastLast

Thread: call to the billfish brigade

call to the billfish brigade

Hi guys

Am planning to start doing a bit of trolling offshore maybe on the weekend, plan is to hopefully land a few fish (mahi mahi or a marlin if where lucky) while finding some ground worth bottom fishing at another date. Can anyone outhere help with some advice on lure types etc. I am looking at getting a TLD 20 for the reel, should be up to the task? As far as lure types go I don't know where to start I was thinking something from the pakula range any favourites you would recommend? Or would we be better off starting with skip baits, I think Jeffo fishes this way a bit ,any hints on how do you rig them

Matty

Re: call to the billfish brigade

G'day mate Give Smithy a PM...I'm sure he'll point you in the right direction...I used to be up on it but found a fly rod one day and know i've found deepwater jigging > Ross... PS-I hope to be chasing some bills of Mooloolaba this weekend if your up that way

Can't go too far wrong with Uzis or for real good value try some of the Boss range from this site. Black and Purple colours in close and luminescent and pink colours out wide. Skip baits can be rigged pretty easily with a bit of copper wire on a hook which you twist around the bill of a gar, break the end off then slide a small plastic squid over the end. Keep looking for bait on your sounder. They are never far from bait.

as smithy said, the uzis work well, as do all the extra pakula lures (cocky,mozzie,micro sproket,zipper) as for trolling gars we run 2 skipping gars and 2 swimming gars in close. gars run better trolled a fraction slower than lures (4.5-5.5 knots). heres one pic of a "pin rig" for skip gars.
    drop me a PM if you want more info.

and whats undernieth the skirt

Matty, you say "A reel" does that mean your trolling 1 line

you would be well advised to get some sort of teaser and run the line close to it, most boats troll 5 rods and 1 or 2 teasers.

rob

Hi guys thanks for the info much appreciated

Jeffo & smithy will shoot you guys a pm later this arvo forr a bit more indepth info have to get back to work >

Rob at this stage the boat is ony setup for 3 rods 2 corners and a shotgun (boats a 5m seafarer venus) trying to talk the old boy into getting some riggers what sort of teaser would you recomend pakula "witchdoctor" or a teaser bar etc? Can only afford to get one dedicated trolling rig at the moment two others will be a penn 330 & 320 or maybe my tss4.

Fin addict were based on the south side so we are planning on trolling between the seaway and the pin this weekend but will drop you aline closer to chrissie and see if we can't catch up in your neck of the woods

Matty

Matty, sofar this season the fish are rats, you certainly wont need great gear to handle what has been around. jeffo has been doing well with 4kg gear for a while now but he is a finely tuned marlin catching machine [smiley=rifle.gif]

trolling will generally mean hooking fish in the mouth which is the most desired outcome for the fish. to get a solid jaw hookup does require more force than your ordinary fish in my experience, keep in mind if your rods are rather soft, a high drag setting would give you a better chance.

the witchdoctor is a benchmark, couldnt go wrong there...there are a lot of teaser bar setups they must work to some extent. the one I use is my own design, it doesnt look overly flash but I wouldnt be without it, its sure had some solid trials some guys use beer cans etc.

ok, your on a limited budget- so i would put witchdoctors on hold for the time being, use two sets of 6" yo-zuri squid in colours like 2 purple then 2 pink then 2 green with a "glitter bug" on the arse end of a teaser line(300lb mono is fine) crimp 1/0 ball sinkers on the line to position the squid, idea is to have the darkest in the prop wash and the others running out of it. hang one off each corner and put a lure behind it about 5meters. the shotgun would be good for dolphinfish so hang it back a fair way like 25/30m! maybe use a wellsy hypolon head door knob in lumo colour(cheapy but it works on dollies and hoo's).
    the corners i would use a pakula mosquito in fire frigate(purple and red) rigged on a pair of 8/0 sl12s in a shackle rig(look at the pakula lure site under articals).
    other corner use a phatom in blue angel or blue hawaii or slimey(all simular green and blue) rigged on 10/0's.
    tld 15's would be fine for you to use with 8kg or 10kg to begin with.
    i think that ultimately you want a set of the boss accurates. 5 of em' for a light tackle trolling set on rollered graphite rods(this is after 5 years of using tld 15s and ld50 diawa's which are now showing signs of packing it in!) these sets arent cheap but they would last your lifetime for 2 times the cost of the tld's/ld's and you can get a 6:1 gear ratio which is better for fast pelargic fish so they cant get slack line when you back up on them.(ask "lee" aka-optimax what he thinks of his accurates!)
    use the gear you got to see if you enjoy that type of fishing first as it's alot of money for the "works" over $7,000 in rods ,reels ,riggers and lures,etc etc(thats for one boat with 5 rods).
    remember "lures are the jewellry of men" and i have no wrist watch, but many lures.
    the "cd rom" between the lines is worth the $100.
    damon

Damon, the test accurate last season didnt go back working, hopefully they improved them!

hrmm.. TLD's work fine and cost a hell of a lot less than accurates. ill keep buying them rob- i havent caught many on 4kg.. but the other lads have. i havent had any worries on th 6kg though. makes pretty short work of them.. well MOST of them

hmmmmmmm....uuuummmm........... ok tlds for jeffo- while he drools over a tiagra, somebodyelse owns!
    rob, what happened to it?........
    good trip you had there at 1770! you done good and played hard(thats one filthy sucker of a narrow barred you're bud got there)- got me phinkin' bout' going up there in april with the 1kg for a world record,haha.

HI damon,

It's all a matter of time and relativity buddy, if I turn up at home with a couple of serious looking game rods the missus will know I've spent mucho grande on them, one rig at a time and I'm hoping she'll look at the teaser and think that won't be worth much . May catch up with you at the workshop your club is running on trolling 19-01-05 I think but the missus is due with our first bub on 20-01-05 time and relativity thing again.

Matty

I can know tell what happened to it. the salt after one season ithout a service got to the rollor bearings and mainly the left side bearing causing the reel to loos free spool. I then Sent the reel back to accurate as I have been helping in some design changes on the reels for about 5 years now and basicaly they are now putting slightly different bearing and maching parts of the housings different to pefent water getting in but also in letting water out. But realistically it did pretty good to go that long without a service on the side of Rob's boat the amount of water and spray that comes over the side is major compared to using and testing them on game boats [(which is what I had done in the past) also why I wanted Rob to test it] I have seen hundreds of Inters/Tiagra's/everol etc reels and service tones of reels for work and They all would have died a lot earlier. Basically It shows that everthing breaks and Make sure you service your gear regularly especialy if you use a tinny or boat that spray can easily hit your reels. Sometimes you are better off putting more grease than the reel needs to pretect it better. anywho I will stop rambling now.

Damon, thanks let me know if you do head up im bound to be going again around that time, we'll take some food out to ya while you fight it all week LOL.
    Nick, the drag was not going well either, it would get sticky and wasnt holding a setting toward the latter part I used it. it sure started off being sweet to use. we did catch some fine fish on that reel though! but so did the tlds and there still fine we gotta get up to hervey and dong some spotties there in!