Thread: flathead spikes

flathead spikes

went fishing on the weekend and caught meself a nice bag of flattys of shell harbour with lots of undersize throw backs. I`m just wondering if everyone else has the same problem as me,my fingers feel like a second hand pin cushion by days end from the spikes on the side of there head. I`ve heard that there is a special way of holding them so that they are as still as a hypnotised chook, does anyone no of this method or now of a good grip so i can remove my hook safetly.

cheers Greg

Re: flathead spikes

turn them up side down(belly up ) it seems to settle them down, never get to many spikes maybe i don`t catch enough MILES

Roll them on their back and carefully put pressure on their anus with your thumb/finger. That makes 'em stand up straight! They tend to open their mouths up too.

Alternatively get yourself an old towel, wet it good with seawater and use it instead.

I've also heard that you can make a Mangrove Jack settle down if you place your forefinger in the corner of its mouth

saw that in a movie the other night but they didn`t settle down might be talking about the wrong thing sorry eheheh

Ain't no way I'm putting my finger anywhere near a Jack's mouth!

keep a wet towel handy for the flatties and if you get spiked, scrape some of the slime of their belly to put on the cut.

... SMIGGSPIG...
    I have been told that when a flathead spikes you to swipe the slime off the tail of the same flathead over the affected area and that reduces the pain as it works like a antidote....

trust me!!!

hey slugo, I've actually done it .... it works a treat

Touchy knows a bit about flattie spikes [smiley=2thumbsup.gif]
    Any fishing is good fishing (should probably say Any fishing is...probably going to be illegal soon)

either roll them over and CAREFULLY slide your thumb and forefinger in their gills (carefull not to break any).
    OR thumb in the bottom jaw and lock tight with a curved forefinger under neith his bottom jaw (reccomend using a glove for this or thumb can look like its had a fight with a sander).
    OR as previously mentioned the "thumb on bum" works a treat.

got spike and over 2 years later I still have no feeling in the finger tip, 2/3 of the last joint. Spoke to the doc about it and he reckoned I had severed a nerve. makes tying some nots a bit hard. So be careful

D2

Had a bit of chuckle on this one. I've got an old fishing buddy in Sydney and rest assured, if he has a flatty in the bin (it will probably be the only fish) he will have called it, "You rotten sh-t" or something similar at some stage and three hours later he will still be bleeding. AND when he gets the fish out of the bucket it will probably still be alive and get him again just for good measure. The same bloke used to hold the lizards with the old thumb in open mouth method. A Brooklyn brute of 80cms taught him better. Personally I prefer the wet towel.

Rob see
    Mate, I reckon I'd stand up straight too mate!!
    You will not get me to stick my finger in a jacks mouth! I saw a bloke do that once, pierced his thumb nail like a can opener!!!

Regards, Tony

I find grabbing them (from underneath), using aforefinger/thumb pinch behind the head works.

Glove em in the mouth even then the buggers will find a way to pin you.But the slime off the tail does work.Best thing is don`t use a net get the glove on before you get them in.

I can relate to Blaze, was spiked retrieving a Flattie from a net (i live in WA) in March last year and top of finger is still numb.

Bozo