Thread: Catching larger fish

Catching larger fish

Fished off the wall at coochin creek yesterday.
    Im new to fising and i kept catching small undersize bream.
    Is there something i should have done to catch larger fish.
    Like maybe heavier sinker to cast further out into the creek.
    Can anyone tell me what they would have done.

shaggy

Re: Catching larger fish

Ditch the sinker and float your bait in around the banks and snags

BIG BAIT[ [smiley=2thumbsup.gif]

First off mate, remember this rule, you dont have to cast out deep and far in a creek just to get big fish. For a start, since your knew to fishing, go down to your bait and tackle shop and try and get some fresh bait, only get frozen bait at the last resort. Some bait shops sell live yabbies and worms and stuff like that. If your shop doesnt then just get the frozen bait. Remember the angler with the freshest bait will outfish one with frozen bait 100% of the time. Always use as lighter line as possible with the lightest sinker possible. Fish the turn of the tides and dawn and dusk for the best results. Keep trying even if your catching undersize fish, there will be bigger ones around. Have a good one and PM me for any more tips. Cheers

Big fresh bait and heaps of burley

5cm live poddy, 1/0 suicide hook through its lip or back and bang it right into the snag. Be drifting along the bank (presuming you have a boat) and keep casting the livie into new snags. High tide gone slack is the best time to do this. also get some 2 inch plastics and do the same thing.

Find an eddy in your creek and grab a no.1 or no.2 chemically sharpened hook and thread on a fillet of pilchard. Cut up remains of pilchard into very small pieces and chuck into eddy. Cast bait in same spot every time. I even caught a 9.8kg jewy using this method.... remember to leave some in there.... for me!!

I don't know about these 1/0 and 2/0 hooks. Don't be afraid to go bigger, especially if you don't care about catching the smaller stuff.

bigger fish, especially in hard fished areas are smarter. To catch them, you need to fish much smarter - more finesse. Lighter line, fresher and better presented bait, be quiet, fish prime tides in very early morning or at night. Takes alot of effort and really gets down to how dedicated you want to be.

"The underlying spirit of angling is that the skill of the angler is pitted against the instinct and strength of the fish and the latter is entitled to an even chance for it's life."
    (Quotation from the rules of the Tuna Club Avalon, Santa Catalina, U.S.A.)

Apathy is the enemy

Fisher_Boats

Best chance off the wall at Coochin would be to throw out onto the sandbank in the middle when the tides running up with a number 4 whiting hook, big piece of blood worm, long trace ,6 lb line and whatever sinker you need to cast out to the bank and you'll probably get some nice summer whiting.
    Don't yank on it when they start biting , let em have it.

Good luck

Col