100lb GT Fishing

Thread: 100lb GT Fishing

100lb GT Fishing

Here is a serious question?

My goal this year isn't to catch a 1000lb marlin or big barra, But it is to catch a 100lb GT.

Does anyone know any guides or anyone up north ie cairns or WA that can help achive this using poppers or live bait with light wieght 24kg/braid/carbon rod outfit.

I am considering ordering IGFA braid form Japan to make it a record but with settle on cathing a GT in that size catorgary. Even if it takes expeditions over the rest of my life to achieve this so be it . But I want to really start to have a crack at it.

If the Guy's ON the following links can do it so can I.

http://www.gt-fisherman.co.jp/top.htm

http://www.hawaiifishingnews.com/100plus.cfm?order=ID

I have the gear. And a lifetime of serious fishing experience plus I work for a tackle company. But one of those GT's is my goal!!!

Any ideas?

Nick
    Ball Boys

Re: 100lb GT Fishing

Saw a photo of one caught off straddie in that size range, be back breaking stuff getting a fish like that.

Cairns:
    Kim Anderson on New Moon III specialises in getting big GTs for japanese clients. Have a look at
    http://www.kimandersensportfishing.com/

Other places in the world:
    Midway Atoll 1,150 miles west-northwest of Honolulu
    Indonensia and maldives.

George

Nick,

That's a good goal. 100lb G.T.

I suggest saving your pennies and head off to the Sychelles or Midway Island. The japanese know where the big ones are, they are crazy about G.T.

My ambitions are not so high. 1 50lb G.T. on fly will do. My back can only stand 1 fish. A sight cast 100lb atlantic tarpon on fly is also on the to-do list.

Most of the game boats out of Cairns go after G.T. too.

My mate Cam with a Cairns 40lb G.T. on fly.

Wes

Nick,

Here's a link to a site that describes a technique called "Hawaiian Slide-Baiting" which they use for G.T. or Ulua.

http://www.angelfire.com/sports/hunt...hingstyle.html

I read of the technique used on Midway to land 70+lb G.T. on 20lb fly tippet. Find the G.T. by trolling a skip bait around the reefs. Once they find the fish, they use burley and hookless popper to tease the fish away from the reef. When the fish are really hot, you feed them a fly.

Wes

Wes, i was very surpised impressed with the time that Cam took to do over that fish, he must have gave it heaps.
    Plenty of GT's around that size at the spot where he got that one. And they will either do yah in 4 second around the structure or swim free and your in for a dogged battled.

For bigger GT's i would get in touch with Barry Cross , somewhat known as the forefather of GT fishing in Cairns, and is known for his casting arm that is able to toss a popper into the next postcode.A great guy and even a better fisherman

Hal Harvey and the crew in WA is also a good place to start if your after important info on chasing big GT's and the likes in WA, Exmouth..

Best of luck with the VW's

Steve Ooi

I do hawaiian style slide baiting for Jew over hear already

And I would preffer to go for the big GT's in QLd if posible as I don't really get any time off working for QTD (Penn & Jarvis Walker Distributors)

Thanks for the heads up so far!

if you work for penn, then get in contact with Jack Erskine and he will give you the names of the best guides in Cairns for chasing big GT's .

regards Steve Ooi

Jack is the Bussiest man in the world it seams like. Just wanted everyone elses opinion instead of using his valuable time. If you have ever called Jack you can hear phones ringing off the Hook constantly.

Ps. Thanks for all the support and answers so far its been great!

Nick

Jack has told me that he holds Barry Cross as one of the most respected big GT experts in this country.( unfortunately i don't remember Barry's ph, give Erskines tackleshop a call and the guy's will help you out)
    I can voucherer for how busy Jack gets,he takes a couple of days off and come back to a mountain of e-mails. He has given more to the fishing industry world wide than many would ever realise.

Regards Steve Ooi

Andy_W

Try Ian Openshaw.

He's based in Exmouth WA were there is a good supply of huge GT's.

His web site is http://www.westernflyfisher.net/

Let me know how you go.

I've set my self the less ambitious target of a 20kg GT from the shore this year and will be heading up to Exmouth in July in an attempt to achieve this.

Good luck

Andy W

Hi bloke the 2 best GTs ive seen and hooked were off the Barnard islands near Innisfail well south of it anyway.I was working on a trawler at the time and I was cleaning the deck when these 2 monsters appeared.I soon found out that 600 metres of 40lb maxima was not enough to stop them emtying the spool within minutes.I reckon that they were 150 lb plus as I have caught them to 80 lbs before all along the east coast from Rockhampton to cairns cross island near the tip of the cape.Trevors of that size are gluttons and dont really care what you throw at them.So the islands may be worth a look good luck hunting a monster. Regards Nilsmaster

One of my friends Damon Olsen operates a charter operation out of Hervey Bay and has been catching some nice G.T.'s of late, mostly on poppers. The best to date has gone 66kg and G.T.'s around the 30kg mark are quite common.
    You can check out the photo of the fish at www.nomadsportfishing.com.au
    Hervey Bay is a great sportsfishing destination and the variety of fish is enormous whether you want to catch reef fish or pelagics

Thats got to be one of the better jobs going imagine the stress

54 k's off Townsville is a plane wreck,I have seen GT's take 60cm spotty macks off your line there.I t is a great place for huge GT's.Ryan Moody or Andrew Mead can get you there.
    regards Lures