Float or sinker from the rocks?

Thread: Float or sinker from the rocks?

Float or sinker from the rocks?

I do all of my fishing with a running sinker off the rocks. I always see people using floats and was wondering is it better to use a float or sinker? I know it would stop snags if I used a sinker but using a float only seems to attract the smaller fish and you are forever winding and casting because the bait goes so quick.

Any suggestions?

megan

Re: Float or sinker from the rocks?

It really depends on what type of fish you are chasing. If you want tailor or salmon then use a float, if you want snapper or bream etc then don't use one. You can lengthen the line up to your float so it is not getting pecked off by the smaller fish ie. have your bait closer to the bottom.

Gongfisho, use as small as sinker as possible to leave you bait in the strike zone for a good period of time. If small fish are a problem then try upsizing your bait or try a different bait. I fish a lot for Black Drummer and Groper and find that a big hook load of cunjei will work well... But hangon 'cause they pull like teenagers...

cheers guys,

I was fishing today off the rocks and had my bait about 1m from the float and still got taken by the little ones. DO u suggest even going 2 metres?

Not sure if they get many groper down here. Might give cungi a try actually cause I know a good spot to get it local and was thinking the other day I should give it a try?

Wouldn't mind picking up a nice salmon. Guy I was fishing next to actually landed one using a sinker but I prefer the float myself.

Cheers guys

Gongfisho,

Where abouts are you fishing (what part of the country) because you can be rest assured that if there is cunjei growing on the rocks there is black drummer or groper nearby.......

Let me know so I can give you some more info...

Nath...

fishing from the Illawarra SOuth coast mate. Loads on cunji on low tide at my local beach (Bulli if you know it). Can't hurt trying the cunji it's free, obviously in moderation to.

Any info really heaps me mate. Haven't been big into fishing and trying to really get into it now I have the time. Really looking forward to getting into it !!!

What ya fishin for?

Hooker1

Drummer will go for the Cunji. Make sure your line is heavy and you use a stump puller type of rod (fast tape with plenty of guts).

If the guy next to you caught a Salmon then get some squid and sinker, maybe set up patanosta rig (let the sinker sit on the bottom).

If Tailor or Salmon are around then Lures work well too. Use cheapies off the rocks. Use Raiders or anything that looks like them (Siver with some weight). Cast out and let the lure sink to different depths (not to the bottom though), wind fast to pick up Tuna, medium for Kings, slow down for tailor and Salmon.

Hooker1

Forgot to mention. If fishing for Bream and stuff close in around snags, just use a really light sinher and let it run onto the hook. It will float around the wash and should pick a few up.

cheers mate

yeah used a lure which you mentioned and got some nice size frigate and had some fun. Brought some soft plastics to play around with catching bream which I will be using tomorrow when I head down to minimurra before work.

Thanks again mate

if at all possible. use a larger swivel and don't use a sinker at all.

megan

I would say to get you line way down in the water just off the bottom, and you might get some bigger ones. Cunjoi is good bait but you better check the legal bag limit befor eyou head off - I think it is about 10 or 20 per person per day. Yes there are a lot of grouper around the rocks in wollongong, crab baits are probably the best.
    Soft plastics will work great in Minnamurra - there are also a lot of whiting and black fish in there, as well as some big flathead, and tailor, snapper and bream around the entrance. Good luck I hope you get a feed. [smiley=wiseguy.gif]

Gongfisho - Used to fish down there alot years ago. Cunjoi off the rocks was definately the gun bai, but also keep an eye out for the little crabs that run around the rocks there. If you can one of those onto a hook, toss it out and hold on!

With the cunjoi, rip out all the inside of it, and thread that onto your hook. Leave the end of the hook (The pointy end!) sticking out, and that should definately get you onto some fish! Try to fish the cunjoi near where you find it. The fish will be looking for it where it occurs naturally, so when they come across a piece they dont need to break open, they jump all over it.

yeah this is all quality info but 1 thing isnt it cunjevoi unless u r using slang