Thread: Bream on lures

Bream on lures

bream guru Tim Morgan will be talking at our next club meeting about bream on lures. Should be very informative. Might be of interest to all those going in the 'river to mud' challenge in July!

Details are Wednesday the 18th May, Brisbane 16' skiff sailing club, Quay St Bulimba. Doors open 7.30 pm for 8 pm start.

More info on our website - follow the link below.

I thought I posted this message earlier today but couldn't find the post so I am posting it again. Sorry if it comes up twice.

"The underlying spirit of angling is that the skill of the angler is pitted against the instinct and strength of the fish and the latter is entitled to an even chance for it's life."
    (Quotation from the rules of the Tuna Club Avalon, Santa Catalina, U.S.A.)

Apathy is the enemy

Re: Bream on lures

OK I'll post a summary tomorrow.

"The underlying spirit of angling is that the skill of the angler is pitted against the instinct and strength of the fish and the latter is entitled to an even chance for it's life."

Apathy is the enemy

Gday jermery,
    Do we have to be a member of the club to attend the meeting, as it would be great to listen to tim
    Morty

G'day Morty,

there is no charge to attend the meeting and visitors are welcome.

Apathy is the enemy

For thpse who live away and cannot attend can someone give us a breif summary

yeh id love to go Jeremy but i'm in class until 9pm, a summary would be very much appreciated mate, cheers

Brief report:

Tim is a great speaker and seems like a top bloke. Very informative talk he gave. Makes you want to get out and have a go asap.

Some notes I took are below.

Gear: 7' rod (longer casting distance), 1000 size reel with instant anti reverse, pink 4lb fireline (highly visible so can watch for bites as lure sinks), rod length leader 8 lb vanish (250 yd for $25 or so).

Hardbody lures: best for shallow water. Tiny lures 2-4 cm long, remove front treble to make it more snag free.

Soft plastics: pink ecogear shad 2" with worm hook and no weight for surface and sub-surface fishing.
    2" atomic curl tail fatgrub "brown crawdad" with #1 hook
    3" berkley dropshot minnow #1/0 hook.
    Use 1/20 to 1/6 oz depending on current and depth you are fishing.

Work the plastics with the current for more control.
    Work around visible structures or deeper structures you pick up on your sounder. Faster current = more aggressive bream. In canals less current, work top half of run in and first half of run out.

Work plastics like a shrimp. Short hops then sink. Usually taken on the drop.

Our next meeting is "Moreton Bay Jew" by Bob Kozien on the 8th of June.

Apathy is the enemy

thank you very much jeremy, much appreciated [smiley=2thumbsup.gif] one things for sure, if anyone knows how to pull bream on lures its Tim Morgan, thanks again

Thanks Jeremy for the summary excellent information

G'day guys,
    I attended the meeting last night and as you say Jeremy, it was very informative. I think that everyone that is interested in bream fishing will go out today and buy the sp's that Tim mentioned ( I'll be one of them ) .
    The places,the techniques and what to look for was amasing , to me anyway. I left the meeting last night, thinking ???, that there is alot more to sp fishing than just throwing a plastic in the water.
    I will finish my message by saying that, it was a very interesting night, thank you for the invitation to your club and it was a pleasure meeting someone from ausfish.
    Thanks Jeremy

mulletgut ( Frank)

Nice to meet you too Frank. Nemo and Devo - you are welcome.

Apathy is the enemy

Appreciate the report. Think back to the Easter classic we had on the Gold Coast and Tim cleaned up another comp. He knows where the fish hold too which is an art to learn in itself.

Marcel.

Captian_Zero

I attended last night and thought it was a very informative talk (well summarised by Jeremy).

I certainly will be getting out soon and trying to add to my two Bream on Sp's.

One other interesting thing he showed us was rigging the plastic for fishing around snags with the plastic rigged on a jighead in a similar way to on a worm hook with the hook point concealed in the plastic.

Thanks to jeremy and the other mebers of the club for their hospitality.

Captian_Zero

Also interesting was his use of additional scent on the plastics. He said he tends to use it more in areas where there is less current,where the bream have more time to have a look.