Thread: Bay Snapper Soft Plastic How 2

Bay Snapper Soft Plastic How 2

I wanted to start this topic as people keep asking on different reports what or how did you. There have been replies of bouncin of the bottom, jigg up and down, same as everyone else I suppose to name a few. So this is you chance to educate all the others. Well maybe as it might be a secret.

Cheers Steven

Steven

Re: Bay Snapper Soft Plastic How 2

Well lets get started.

I tend to use light jig heads in the 1/6 to 1/4 TT or Nitro. Mostly 2/0 , 3/0 or 5/0 depending on the plastic.

As for rods and reels will use 2500 series reel (Diawa Capricorn) mounted on a Phluger?? spelling Trion 6 foot 8inch 3-6kg medium,extra fast action rod with 10lb braid and either 10-14lb flurocarbon leader at least rod length long.

I tend to cast my plastic (stickbait) (berkleys, snapbacks and zooms) in front of my drift pattern. Let the plastic sink to what ever depth you may desire(tend not to get to the bottom) wind in the slack line and then lift my rod tip from water level up to about 60 degrees. Let it sink and repeat the action etc. What I am trying to do is mimick a wounded bait fish floating to the bottom as if it was hit by a predator on the surface. Thats why I use light heads. I dont use 3/8 or larger unless the current/ wind is ripping through or fish water over 45 foot. (nonthing natural about a bait sinking to the bottom in a verticle fashion) Seem to have better succes this way and pick up less grinner / rubbish fish than bouncing out the back or spooking a bigger fish with my sounder going. That said I do throw out a plastic out the back about 30 foot as I drift along and do pick up fish on this rod as it sits in my rod holder.

As far as terrain goes, will fish alot wider than most past structure as well as on the top. Some of my best fish (up to 76cm) have come approx 30-50 metres from structure in open ground.

Cheers Steven

Steven

DaneCross

Great topic Steven, I'm interested to hear different peoples techniques as well. I know they're spread out all over the site in various posts but to have them all together in one thread would be great! Your technique sounds good, much like others I've read about, do you tend to have much success? We had our first hit out with plastics on the weekend and found the fish to just peck at the plastic as opposed to monstering it. Maybe they weren't squire as there were a fair few whiptails in the area. JB picked up a keeper grassy and seemed to be getting the most hits out of the 3 of us as he was using the pumpkinseed colour. Do you find squire will nip at the plastics or just hammer it?
    Dane

Quote Originally Posted by DC
    JB picked up a keeper grassy and seemed to be getting the most hits out of the 3 of us as he was using the pumpkinseed colour. Dane
    * cough * just skill mate

I tend to use 1/16 or 1/12 nitro or tt jig head weights. When drifting around Peel, cast out, let it sink and lift occasionally and find the snapper grab it and run.

Other snapper on plastic have been caught in the Raby Bay canals either by having the plastic dead stick baiting or lured out from under boats.

The main plastic to work here has been the trusty 3" bass minnows.

Hope this helps.

Marcel.

I still dont understand why everyone uses threadlines for this type of fishing and not baitcasters? Can someone shed some light on this for me. Trent explained it to me once before but, i still think a baitcaster would do the same job if not make it easier to let more line out if required.

Jas

Quote Originally Posted by JB
    I still dont understand why everyone uses threadlines for this type of fishing and not baitcasters? Can someone shed some light on this for me. Trent explained it to me once before but, i still think a baitcaster would do the same job if not make it easier to let more line out if required.

Jas
    You generally can't cast 1/16 jigs with a baitcaster - too light and you just get overruns. But certainly baitcasters would be fine with the heavier jigs.

We use TT jigheads ranging from 1/12th to 1/4oz depending on depth etc.
    Cast in front of the boats drift and let jig sink all the way to the bottom, making sure you keep an eye on the slack line as quite often it will get hit on the drop and you will miss the fish if not paying attention. If this happens, click bail arm over and let it run. You need to make sure you keep enough pressure on the fish to keep it off the bottom, but not enough to get busted off.
    Then click bail arm over and a short lift, then let it sink again. Repeat til you get the SP back into the boat.
    Most of the squire will hit the SP in the first few cranks of the handle. They normally smash it, but if they are just tapping it, I have found that stopping the retrieve and dropping the rod down will get the fish to hit, then you strike and it is on!!!
    Have found with squire that 4" SP's are good, although the 3" work okay. Havent had too many undesirables on the larger gear.
    hope this helps
    Beefa

aquarius

I would say a combination of 3 things will give some success when fishing plastics for snapper.
    1; find some good structure thats holding baitfish.
    2;Use just enough weight to let the plastic drift down naturally.
    3;find a location away from other boat traffic.
    Cheers Brent

Dane / DC

Yes, good to see the topic getting some replies. Reason it was posted is that I caught up with and saw a few people fishing using heavy heads and they were catching grinners and thats about it. The method of light heads works and is very sucessful. As Aquarious said, keep away from boat traffic and look for the bait on your sounder. Re your sounder, if you come accross a patch of fish showing right on the bottom, more than likely they will be grinners, Squire tend to be off the bottom and will swim quite high in the water. So much so that when floatlining in the shallow reefs around the GC and cubing reguarly have seen them on the surface. As far a pick no, they are predators and smash the plastic. They may have been very small but I cant comment. Pickers may have been wiptails if they were comming out with nips and slices no tails, bet on pike. As far as colour, probably doesnt mater to much, its what you put on the most that catches the most fish, like the pink hardbodies for flathead.

Cheers Stevn

Steven

Hey fellow fishers,

When you lift tour SP do you twitch it at all on the way up or is it a gradual raise?

This thread has given me the incentive once again to give the SP's another try.

I am planning on heading to Mud Is Saturday arvo and give the ol' Snapper a hiding. lol.

DaneCross

That makes two of us Mark. I have a feeling we won't be the only ones there
    Thanks for the tips Steven, see how I go on the weekend

Madman1 / DC

I use no twitch, just a gradual lift, Using a 6.5 to 7 foot rod and lifting to about 1 o'clock you are moving the plastic up what 12-15 foot again in the water column. then letting it drift back down again.

Steven

Steven

What knot do people use to tie their jig head to the leader. I have been using a loop knot which allows the plastic the most action as it is not tied directly to the eyelet. Anyone have any ideas

andrew

i havent caught a big snapper yet but ive got heaps of good squire and other ooglies by letting the sp hit the bottom then hve 2 winds up n then sink 4 1sec an then 2 winds n then sink 4 2 sec...and so on...i dont use much rod flickin or anythin...and i do find as will every one that if there is lots of traffic its gunna b no go.....but like i said i have not landed a big nobby yet .........i used to use sps for flatties on the flats all time but now i tend to use tassie devils...the love em...