Thread: Seasickness "the cure"

Re: Seasickness "the cure"

dom, got any more info? can you dredge up a pic/webpage example?

I too would be keen to get more info about these bands.
    Who makes them (brand)?

Good sleep and a big breakfast. I mean Eggs, sausages, tomato, mushrooms, baked beans and toast drenched with coffee. Then keep the fluids up for the rest of the day. Also found chewing something to be good because it keeps the temples moving.

Angla (only ever sick on other people's boats)

eat, drink and fish

Bundy Bandit - who does feel funny with number 5? The same goes for reading 2-3 hours in a bus.

I'll find the exact place you can buy them today....

Leave it with me.
    "Reef Hustler" - Seafarer Victory 6.0m & 225hp Honda

They are sold at most chemist shops, and generally cost around $15-$20.
    "Reef Hustler" - Seafarer Victory 6.0m & 225hp Honda

No worries Dom (ya bloody [smiley=gorgeous.gif])
    For those who want to join Dom and I and start sporting fashionable accessories whilst fishing offshore .... I suggest you visit Glasscraft where I bought my last pair ... only $10.45 BARGAIN!!! lol

Herby

As my better half gets sick on the moggil ferry, distance 60 metres the
    cure is anything ginger based. My local GP did some independant
    testing of 8 types and came up with the same result.

Spent the day hunting down these bands and this is what i found.

Glascraft had the ones made out of cotton but are sold out of them. Terry-white sell adjustable ones (beige in colour) made out of nylon and velcro: look among the travelcalm products and you should see the bands. And finally, Whiteworths also stock em in an adjustable band (black in colour)

I would stay away from the cotton ones as i reckon over time they will get loose and hence become ineffective. The adjustable ones would be the go.

P.s. they are all made by different manufacturer's but work on the same pressure point principal. A pair shouldn't set you back more than 15 bucks.

I am one of the unfortunate few who suffer badly and believe me it is not all in the mind. When you love being out fishing as much as I do, being sick is the last thing on my mind.

My cure: The night before take one Dramamine tablet. They are the most expensive but for me they work the best by far. Get a good nights sleep and no alcohol. Something dry for brekky like vegemite and toast. Another tablet at least a half hour before you hit the road and take a half tablet every few hours.

The real key is NEVER EVER look down and concentrate at a close distance, such as baiting a hook or rigging a line - particularly while you are anchored up. This is the boating equivalent of reading in a car which gets most people sick.

Many years ago I read an article published by NASA on the causes of motion sickness. It is a major problem for them and they undertook a multi-million dollar study to try and find the cause and cure. The NASA report said that it is caused by conflicting messages being sent to the brain. In the case of looking down and baiting up a hook, your eyes are concentrating at close range and are sending a message to the brain that says you are still. In the meantime your brain is getting another message from your balance senses that says you are rocking about in a boat. The result - the old brain gets very confused and goes into a shock like mode with the resultant breakdown of bodily functions.

Believe me, not much fun.

Kind regards... David

Hadn't heard aboout the pressure bands before but there is a possibility that because I share in the energy field of my next door neighbours crystal pyramid and magnetic resonator the effect might amplified.

Actually I kid you not about my pyramid neighbours but I might have a look at these pressure bandages. I get the impression that most seem affected by this ailment to varying degrees and I might actually start a poll on that.
    cheers BB