Thread: maps for hinchinbrook

gary1

maps for hinchinbrook

G'day Everyone,
    I'm heading to hinchinbrook in november staying at lucinda and I'm trying to get a decent detailed map (chart) of the area.I already have one from the aus hydrographic service but it just doesn't seem very detailed eg rock's, bottom type etc.If anyone know's of anyone who put's out more detailed map's(chart) i would greatly appreciate the help as I'm only up there for 8 day,s when I go and a more detailed map would definetly make thing's a bit easier for me.All help greatly appreciated.
    Thank's Gary1

Re: maps for hinchinbrook

gary1, see if you can get your self nigel webister's book on hinchinbrook from f+b magazine.

It is one top read.

Or stop in townsville or Ingham at a tackle store and they will have some maps.

Or the 6th edition of the northern aust fish finder mag.

keen_as_mustard

the book gary is talking about is available online from Sea Media (http://www.seamedia.com.au/publications/index.php?id=9). I bought it when I went up there - got me very excited for my trip. doesn't have detailed maps, but does have plenty of mudmaps with good fishing spots, and heaps of other info. for the price, you can't beat it.

the other mag he speaks about has more maps (but includes all of nth aust), but is much more expensive - available at newsagents

have fun

Coral SEA Kayaking have some maps online,don't know if there in enough detail for you.

gary1

Morning Everyone,
    Thank you very much for all your'e help i'll try try everything you all spoke about.Richard i asked the wife and apparently we've got broadband(i'm not very computer literate) anyway she reckon's it should work, sorry I can't reply personally but apparently I have to have10 post's before i can do that.Anything you could help me with would be greatly appreciated.
    Many thank's to everyone agian,
    Gary1

G'day Gary,

I have a standing invite to all Ausfish members to call in at my Lucinda workshop & I will give you up to date local info which could be vital.
    Failed wet seasons with no major floods for the last four years have made fishing conditions "bloody hard yakka" to say the least.
    Timber lures - just bung 'em in the water mate & hang on !!!

gary1

Luigi,
    I'll take you up on that, looking forward to it.
    Thank's Gary1

Gary 1
    The north australian fish finder mag is good, aerial maps etc.
    I think Steve sells it on this site.

Regards, Tony

Ausfish Platinum Member whiteman's Avatar

The best maps are in a book called Cruising the Coral Coast. All of the detailed soundings were done by the author. A bit of an overkill though as it maps the entire barrier reef coastline for around $70.

gary1

Thank's Whiteman+Everyone,
    I really appreciate everyone's help I've gone from not being able to find anything decent to now having heap's of option's to check out,Once again thank you to everyone for their input.
    Thank's
    Gary1