Thread: Tempest and wello

Tempest and wello

gday guys i always here about tempest and wello, firstly where do u launch to reach these spots, and from them ramps how long does it take to get there also, is a 15ft pollycarft suitable boat, cheers

Re: Tempest and wello

Wello you launch from.....Wello....Wellington Point Ramp, end of Main St
    It is about....hmmmmm.....5 minutes from the boatramp on a bad day!!
    I take a 4mtr tinny there, will be no probs with the poly

Cant help with Tempest, sorry.

thanks mate thats a start

also mate what do u usually catch or at least try to catch at wello

You can look Wello up in the refidex.
    Wello is good for squire, sweetlip and the mandatroy pests like grinners and pike!! Nothing huge, but fun all the same

aquarius

Beefaman you forgot to mention we also catch, bream, flathead. coral trout,morwong, estuary cod, sharks, shovel nose rays, sole, mackerel,tawhine,parrot and so on.....This reef system is always full of surprises...lol
    Cheers Brent
    ps; $5 to fish Wello ,$105 to fish tempest...lol

Brent,
    You forgot the red bullseyes
    If you sink at Wello, you can walk to shore.....if you sink at Tempest you better hope there is somone around [smiley=happy2.gif]

aquarius

Good point there Mate........oh and there's a cafe very close to the boat ramp......gee are we spoilt or what...lol
    On a serious note i don't reckon there's a reef closer to land in the bay that has so much to offer in structure and fish species.
    Like Beefaman said they are not monster fish but gee they fight hard in the shallow water!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    Cheers Brent

Giday aquarius,
    Do ya just go straight out from the ramp to find the wello reef. Am real keen to have a go at it this weekend. Also, what water depth are you fishing in, and what are the best baits to try in the area. Finally anywhere nearby to cast net a few livies??
    Any info would be tops,
    Cheers Fritzy

thats a good point on the livies, also do u have the gps mark and , when u say small what sizes should i expect.
    also can u catch livies on rigs where would u do that at wello, and what baits you use or soft plastics??

Guys,
    Brent, Touchy and myself all use SP's at Wello. As a general rule we fish 5metres of water, but this can very depending on tide flows etc.
    If you go out through the leads, find 5 metres of water, and head left you wont be too far off the mark. Just head towards Huybers Beacon.
    Squire sizes go from undersized to 50/60 cm, but we have all been busted off by much bigger fish
    Never used bait there, and I doubt I ever will. I am sure you could get some around the jetty if needed though.

Hope this helps. Cant do much more than that apart from take you out ourselves.....but finding your own little "spot" is half the fun

thanks for all your help. are any of you guys going out on the saturday i wouldnt mind if its ok by you guys to follow you out, just so i can get a run down of things as iam new up here and have NO IDEA.

aquarius

Fritzy go out to the end of the leads hang a left and head down to the Huybers light (red one)
    Fish in 3.5 to 5 metres.......If the water is clear you will need to get there in the dark.
    Fish will spook easily as the sun rises over the shallows
    Plenty of pike around and if you get a berley trail going the gar and hardyheads may show.
    I just noticed Beefaman put up a post.......Might need to use 2 fingers to type with...lol
    Guys not sure if i am going to Mud or Wello.....I will wait until tomorrow night before i decide.
    Should be a top weekend weather wise so hope the fish are hungry.
    As Beefaman said i'm a plastics fisho but previous to this used whole squid, mullet flesh and WA Pilchards.....All must be as fresh as possible!!!!.
    You will catch fish all day with plastics but bait fisho's usually get out there early morning and by midday the place is deserted.
    Cheers Brent

I have heard a rumour Touchy is heading to Wello Saturday morning.....just look for the guy with a real UGLY head, and that will be him Oh, and he has Touchy written on his boat....thats a give away. He will be drinking a cup of tea in the carpark right before daybreak!!

I am heading there Monday, try to get the place to myself