SAVE THE HORNIBROOK BRIDGE - PLEASE READ

Thread: SAVE THE HORNIBROOK BRIDGE - PLEASE READ

SAVE THE HORNIBROOK BRIDGE - PLEASE READ

G'day Ausfishers,

As I am sure many of you know, there are plans to build a new bridge over the Houghton Highway to Redcliffe and part of this plan is to also demolish the original Hornibrook Bridge that was built in the 1930's.

If you have been living in SE QLD longer than me then you don't need to be told that this bridge carries a significant historical value of local history and it also provides enjoyment to many Fisherman, Cyclists, Walkers etc who use it as a recreational venue.

For this reason I am completely against the proposals to demolish the original bridge, and I feel that it should be maintained as an ongoing initiative.

If you feel the same way as I do then please drop in to this page which is the official QLD parliament website that also contains various current petitions.

Please look for petition 476-05.

http://www.parliament.qld.gov.au/epe.../petitions.cgi

Thanks Everyone [smiley=2thumbsup.gif]

chanquetas

Re: SAVE THE HORNIBROOK BRIDGE - PLEASE READ

Even if you dont know the Hornibrook Bridge please sign this!!!
    The bridge is such a great asset to all people not just fisherpeople and to lose it would be a tragedy.

markpeta

From what I hear on the radio the traffic is bad along there where should they build the new one and at what expense.

I think there would be plenty of room between the Houghton and Hornibrook for the new bridge. This would save the cost of removing the Hornibrook and that money could be used to repair the bridge which is dangerous in parts. Though I don't know how the cost would pan out the timbers may be to far gone.

I work as a maintenance sparky on the houghton and everytime I get a call to go there because its playing up the hair on my neck stands because it has been a disaster from day dot,the new bridge that is.Did you know that the contractor who put the new bridge in when it was decided to go to 3 lane quoted 1 million to make it 4 lane but the government said nope, since that decision they have spent heaps trying to make it reliable and fit for the job.
    As for the old bridge I think they should keep it as it creates great recreational pleasure and is a famous landmark.

chanquetas

Fancing making a 3 lane bridge, not 4 lane. Tossers.
    "Nobody will want to travel to the Redcliffe Peninsula, its an isolated (fishing) paradise just north of Brisbane....3 lanes will be more than enough. We dont want to overcapitalise".
    Now the #$%^wits want to tear down the old one. Cant politicians somewhere sometime just get it RIGHT!
    For F#$%'s sake.

Ive had a bad day...please excuse me....

Here is the bridge:
    http://maps.google.com/maps?ll=-27.2...9273&t=k&hl=en

The original bridge - fishing/running/walking/sightseeing mecca - is on the left, the newer, shortsighted, 3 lane is on the right.

The old Victoria Bridge in Brisbane was also torn down many years ago, and Brisbane has rued that decision ever since.

If I remember correctly the Houghton was originally a 2 lane bridge with a footpath along one side it was never meant to be 3 lanes for traffic. After the Houghton was complete the Hornibrook was to be renovated and continue taking traffic to Redcliffe. It was then decided that the Hornibrook was beyond ecconomical repair to take traffic and we ended up with the current situation. Pedestrians don't weigh as much as cars surely the old girl could be maintained for this as I don't think we will be able to fish from any new bridge.

chanquetas

Quote Originally Posted by Fishej
    ...originally a 2 lane bridge with a footpath along one side it was never meant to be 3 lanes for traffic...
    I didnt know that. There u go. Fair enough, but the old bridge should still stay I reckon.

Ausfish Addict

When i first heard about this many months ago, the press release was saying they were going to tear down half the old bridge and refurbish the other half for fishing ??? didn't make sense to me, as the money need to pull down half and refurbish half surely would have been enough to refurbish the old one for fishing and pedestrians.

Sad to hear about the Old Hornibrook Bridge, given the amount of pedestrian and cycle traffic that uses the bridge something has to be done to ensure safety, however this area needs to retain a facility for these people to use, fishos included. Whilst fishing in the Dohles Rocks area the view of the public using the bridge to 'get out in the sunshine' is a welcome site. This crossing should be maintained for the benefit of all in the area.

Heard on the radio this morning that the Govt has announced that the bridge is set for demolision. Its interesting to see that the on-line petition has only 584 signatures to date, and another month or so to run. So perhaps if people wish to be heard they need to get on-line and have their say.

S.S.

Try 548 signatures.

I just signed the petition. Took a whole minute. I think you'll find that most people can't be bothered to get off their bottoms.... someone else will do it for them

Thanks SS, I do that sometimes, fingers go faster than the brain.