Seasickness, do you fight it?
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Seasickness, do you fight it?

Seasickness, do you fight it?

Ok this is probably aimed at those who head into open water but I get the impression that there are many who are affected enough to use their own remedy in their battle to remain sunny side up.
    I pop a single pill these days and am just fine if I keep to my method. No coffee and no brekkie then eat while everyone else chucks.

Re: Seasickness, do you fight it?

My Wife gets sick in the bay i dont like my luck out in the open..
    She never gets sick if she does not eat. But on the other hand i dont know if i get sea sick.

I like popping pills but have never thought to use the excuse its for sea sickness. Thats a good one thanks for the heads up.

James

Thought I'd seen you around the rave parties mate.

wiseguy67

Sailing 10000knm big blue I still feel a bit crook on the first day, it helps to watch the horizon, keep your hands and feet busy ie do something don't go below and try to sleep it off. The best way to cure or prevent is to find a church on a hill with a big old tree beside it and sit under it. LOL

Still not enough votes to make a clinical trial but interesting in any case

Needmorerum

While moving I'm OK. Stop and sit for a while in a swell and it's all over. Normally, I'll take a Kwell everytime before going out. Only ever dropped to my knees once and got the cold sweats, and didn't take one before leaving. Lesson learnt, not willing to take the chance now. Although, only really need to take one before leaving and that will do me all day.

Corry

Never used to get crook, but certainly do now (43).

If heading offshore I always take travalcalm (or similar), they work a treat for me.

They certainly do make me dry so I take ice water or weak cordial so that I don't get that sugar mouth feeling that I get from too much soft drink (beer is out for me).

Only real issue I have is that the pills make me tired, so believe it or not, I end up having a snooze in the cabin other wise I would never stay awake driving home after a big day.

Without the pills I don't reckon I could even look at the cabin let alone lay down in there.

- Darren

I take 1 pill before heading out - usually a KWELLS or the like.

The problem is the tiredness and lethargic feeling you get from the pills - i have found that taking a V or red Bull energy drink a few hours in helps to sharpen your mind and keep u more "with it"!

Also, just doing the normal precautions - NOT standing in the cabin (get lots of fresh air), keep eyes on the horizon, trying not to get too hot.... helps... as does catching fish!

And, if u do spew, u MUST keep fishing or you will be gone for the day!
    just one more cast........

Usually throw my guts up, Went whale watching in HB so i tried some Quells, one the night before and another in the morning, was a big cat, had to turn the motor off as the whales approached, boat was rocking from side to side like a ekka ride, i was eating bbq chips.

Gotta Love them Quells

If I pay for a charter boat use my vomit as berly, never stop fishing, can be expensive day out for a sleep

Stephen

Stu

I have a Kwell before heading out. I try not to drink beer the night before but most times this fails. The Kwells do the trick though.

I am also one of the lucky ones that have never been sick B4, and hope never to be. Have been out in some absolute crap but have never been crook. Have a few deckies that get that sick if they forget their pills, i really don't know why they forget them. Must admitt now i like the days to be a little calmer -nothing over 30knts . Rather be fishing than balancing .....

P.s Wife gets crook but neither of the kids do, but they think it so bloody funny watching Mum try not to be sick .
    It's FULLY SIC man

Never been sick myself but seen a few blue faces on my boat off mooloolaba! Feel sorry for the poor buggers that get sick! Not sure the reason i dont get sick....Ive been on boats since i was about 5 yrs old...maybe thats why, i dont know its strange!

I haven't been sick for quite some time ...but usually take a tablet just to make sure if the swell is up
    The last several offshore trips i had nothing , but if i think it will be bumpy , i will take one just to be on the safe side ......i still vividly remember getting sick and don't want that feeling ever again

I'm one of the lucky ones who has never been seasick at all.

I do get headaches from the glare though. So sunnies, and water are a must for me.