-
The Apple Isle
Anyone ever been fishing in tassie? if so where and what did u catch?
-
-
Re: The Apple Isle
take the brackets and - outta the title and it should show .
-
G'day rhinoauk,
Have you just moved down here?
There is hot bream fishing in the derwent as well as good trouting. The beaches around Clifton and 7 Mile are good for salmon, and mega atlantic salmon are regular catches around Huonville/Southport. If you want to get offshore, then launch at Eaglehawk Neck and head east till you hit the shelf. There are plenty of striped trumpeter out there. In summer/autumn there also heaps of albacore and some big yellowfin - a mate got one 82kg a few months ago. There are also heaps of flathead inshore.
If you want more info, pm me.
Yockman
-
me and a few buds are heading down fortescue bay next week and heard that the fishing is ok down that way. we have no boat so we will be fishing off the rocks. do you know of any good locations? rigs? and which species are caught?
-
No current reports but you could try spinning of the beach and the rocks at the southern corner for salmon, or lob a bait out for a flathead. Pretty quiet down there this time of year with no boat. Could also be a few squid round the jetty.
-
Was down there a few weeks ago, looked like some good areas to fish. Though the blokes they got doing the fishing show (hook line and sinker looked like a bunch of knobs.
-
Hi Rhinoark,
have you been having any luck? Try Adult Education, they run courses by the guys at Spot on Fishing for Beach Fising for salmon and esturay fisihng for bream. They also run a course on using soft plastics. I am keen to try thier courses as they take you out for a days fishing a lot cheaper than a charter.
I live in Hobart and plan on doing a bit more fishing once the Cray season ends, 31-Aug! Email me if you want to come for a fish.
Jon
-
caught some sharks at 7mile beach and a few sharks at fortescue bay a week back. odd flatty, wrass and cod.