Page 1 of 5 12345 LastLast

Thread: Favourite Surf Jew Bait

Favourite Surf Jew Bait

Hey guys,
    Just wondering what your favourite bait is for big surf jewwies. Live tailor, dart, whiting, mullet, or perhaps a slab of one of the above. Or live beach worms... or anything else.
    JAckash

Re: Favourite Surf Jew Bait

OH and in conjunction with this... when do you opt to strike the fish during a bite/take?

Red_Bull

G'day Ash, if you are meaning at Fraser Island, as in your other posts, then it shouldn't really matter which of the abovementioned livies you use. If the jew are there and hungry, they will eat any of them. Last time we were up there, we got one reasonable jew at night off the rocks at Waddy on a 30 cm live tailor.

As long as it's fresh or alive, it will get eaten I reckon.

Bull

Ok thanks Red bull, haha yeah I'm probably getting a little padantic but i wana hae a serious crack this year. Where abouts on the rocks at WAddy, jsut off the front in the usual spot or round the back? Understood if you dont want to say
    JAckash

Red_Bull

No worries Ash, yeah it was just off the front as usual, well, if you mean the platform facing north east? The thing that excites me is that there's so much deep water right in close. We got blown away by some real thugs too using pillies late arvo, 300m of 10kg string gone in a flash.

I can wait to get up there again myself, haven't been for 5 years. It's not terribly comfortable fishing off those rock platforms at night, but you gotta do what you gotta do, hey?!

Just be careful

Bull.

Yeah we might get one morning in off there if we are lucky as we will b leaving the day it is reoppened... but yes there are some big bad fish hanging out off that headland.

What do you reckon those things were by the way. Jews, tailor, perhaps kingies... cept i'd imagine they would go down a bit more than out. Macks maybe .
    WE've hooked some absoulte thumpers off the beach there on fresh tailor and dart slabs, one was most def's a ray after a 45 min fight still had 300 metres of 20lb line out. but also hooked some other things which we guessed as big tailor.
    Also fishing round the side of WAddy on the way out to the face you were talking about above fishing with a pillie tail and catching some choppers and trevally, i hooked up to something fairly large, hahah spooled me with 300 m of 25 lb line in literally no more than 30 secs, reel was a blur. Whe i set the hook i saw something a fair way out thrashing across the surface before it hit the accelerator. It was big whatever it was.
    Hahaa i love that place
    Jackash

Red_Bull

Yeah Jackash, whatever blew us away were not tailor, I can be certain of that. Even big tailor are relatively easy to subdue on 10 kg string. They don't take a huge amount of line, from my experience. These were fast enough to be mackerel, but they could easily have been cobia or kingy's I suppose. Makes you want to go back and have another crack at 'em that's for sure.

If beach fishing, you shouldn't get busted up too much whatever the size fish you're hooking, if you are patient and can stick with big fish till they tire. Possibly, toothy critters will snip you off, but at least a jew won't.

Cheers mate,
    Bull.

Yeah we jsut seem to be unlucky pulled hooks etc. The big things we generally seem to have on for 20 secs and end up getting bait back and everything. Maybe they are jewwies jsut swimming with the bait, not sure but this year hopefully ill get one in.
    Jackash

Jackash, if you keep getting your bait back after the strike, when you feel you should strike, count to 10 and then strike. It gives a good jew time to get a big bait down its throat. Off the rocks, they could have been anything from sharks, cobia, tuna, macks etc etc.

Yeah well could u describe this too me. As the things we had spitting back the bait would absoultely take off, not just cruising but they were flying, whereas I'd expect the jewwy to jsut cruise with it. however, should I even try waiting before striking even with these tings zooming off.
    Jackash

Could be anything big. you could get 100 peoples opinions of what it is and chances are it would still be different. Try both striking quickly and slowly. Keep trying and eventually you will get one of the suckers.

I'm not stopping until I do

Thats the attitude mate. We can all relate to targeting a particular fish and not stopping till you get one. Hit it hard. By the way, a 2 metre jew would be one hell of a fish. A 1 metre jew is about 10-15kg. so a 2 metre jew would be well over 30kg. After they hit about 1.5 they just fatten up.

i will be going up is november and i might give big bait fishing at night of really early morning a go.

The plan is to get a 30-40Cm tailor fillet it and use one of the fillets as a bait with two 7/0's in it what are your oppinons.

This will be of the rocks a Waddy point out the front i imagin. I also need to learn how to put pillies on ganged hooks properly. last time i went, which was at easter,i was fishing out the front and i hooked a bream, well i found out it was a bream later, about 30-40 cm (estimated the hed alone was 15cm) and then a wave came and wooshka that thing took of and i thought yeeha im in for a treet then is spat the remainders of the bream out (the head) and i examined the bite mark and it wasnt curved at all it was dead straight and a really clean cut to. Could this have been a mack?

Chemmy