is this a common baitfish in the bay

Thread: is this a common baitfish in the bay

is this a common baitfish in the bay

was out fishing the M8 saturday morning, and jigged up a couple of these little guys along with the usual suspects. I haven't ever seen them in Moreton Bay before, but then again, I am fairly new to the baitfish jigging scene in the bay. I'll bet they're awesome mackerel bait, though did have trouble keeping them alive in the tank. I was wondering if anyone could tell me if they are common all year round??????

Ausfish Gold Member

Re: is this a common baitfish in the bay

mate im no expert but id say its a yakka(yellowtail) they are a top bait

Yep....its a yakka.....usually they are hardy as all hell ! If you are having trouble keeping them alive i'd work on improving your tank circulation/aeration. I can keep a dozen + alive all day in a 30lt tank with one or two water changes

nope aint no yakka, whats known as a jeffo i think.

yeh thats not a yakka looks similar to a finney scad but not that either.

cheers matt

Looks like a yakka, not sure though. Hope its still alive of greeny will get upset!

Quote Originally Posted by sandgroper
    Looks like a yakka, not sure though. Hope its still alive of greeny will get upset!
    Nah, it's ok... That's a Live Bait Board ROFLMAO!

Have caught the odd stray one of these inside Moreton but never bothered to get a positive ID on them. The line of black dots toward the dorsal and black edge on the dorsal are pretty distinctive, and the back end puts him in the mack family so not a yellowtail/scad which have more trevor characteristics.

Not a slimey but very closely related I am guessing.

Mackeral Scad, all scads have the same distinstive tail shape.

i have used them for snapper bait before that size they love em , and certain areas of the bay i can always get the livies but i have better luck in the arvo .

chillers

lol rob

indian mackeral. looked into it a while ago.. as most of you know.

grinner scad - I think I've eaten one

Additional info now Jeffo has given a starting point,

Indian Mackeral = Rastrelliger canagurta =

Summary - blue-green fish with two rows of blackish spots running along the back, extremely long gill rakers extend to mouth cavity.

So sayeth the QLD fishermans bible, Grants Guide to Fishes, and as such shall from this day on be known by all those that have maroon blood in their veins as a,

Rake-gilled Mackerel (E.M. Grant)

Staunty i also got some of these off Caloundra on Friday. First time I can recall catching them.

i bet they live bait like a yakka though .....tell me if a hungry spanish would stop to check out the difference

damn ....all these scad / mackeral species of baitfish ...damn hard to tell em apart ..i had no idea what it was , but knew it was not a yakka from the bottom lip and the spots along the dorsal