Thread: LTTLE TIN STRADDY

LTTLE TIN STRADDY

hi all heading over to north strady at the end of september for a week of fishing and surfing and just after some help from locals or island regulars as to a plan of attack. will be targeting the land based stuff with a bit of knowledge spinning for jew ,soaking bait off the beach and land based game off the stones but know not where to target with my little tinny and 4 horse power. we understand will probley be restricted to the bay side and thought targeting flattys with plastics and liveys, whiting with yabs and throwing slugs at travilling surface fish will be the go. any inside info on yabby areas, live bait spots and areas to target fish at given tides and game plans would save us some time and be greatlly appreciated. succesfull info would be repaid of coarse in cold beer and hopefully a feed of fishees. thanks all good luck over the rest of the squire season cheers foockchucker

Re: LTTLE TIN STRADDY

at the end of the amity piont caravan park there is a lil track follow that and it will leed you to a yabby bank good luck
    ps. scott15 went up there about 3 months ago and was using plastice and out fished his cousin and uncle who were using bait...just a thought

thanks cheemy any other areas @ there that the tinny could come into play. your always having a chat great to see a young fulla so keen ; would love to take you for a fish someday your on the northside from memory. nice fish you got out the banks last week did you outfish dad ? becouse my young bloke usually does.

Pump for yabbies at One Mile during the day and fish there for Whiting and Bream at night.

yeah mate, that yabbie bank chemmy was talking about is a good spot. where all the big boats moore its quite deep and i pulled a number of flathead from that spot. and also ya might be a bit late but the tailor were quite thick outside the caravan park, got quite a few using slugs off the rock walls

thanks lads will do just one more ask where is a productive spot to gather liveys after poddys, herring ect for flattys and also yakkas and slimeys for land based game and the smelly old jew.

hey lads heard that possible to cast net livies of the jetty aa amity but from memory this was really super crowded last visit so any advice on alternative spot to cast net or catch live bait would be most thankfull for cheers foockchucker

I was over at Straddy in July.... tried for yabbys around the big sand spit through at the end of the caravan park and we got about 10 from about 45 mins of hunting about. The ones we did catch were all small, and caught in close to the mangroves.

Some lovely deep water in behind the spit which just scream flathead. We did most of the fishing over in the surf though, so no time for the bayside.

The Amity Point jetty wasn't very busy at all - i don; think the light at the end was working though but should be ok for a throw of the net. Check out some of the private jettys at amity though as they all have lights on at night and heaps of baitfish hanging around.... along with some friendly dolphins who just love to scare the crap out of you!!!
    just one more cast........

thanks chief will give them a go. hoping on some liveys as have got a feeling by the end of september there may be some speedsters hanging around the rocks at point lookout. the balloons may be moving away against the wind.

has anyone had any success with lbg of the stones at point lookout area. have got the jew spots sussed but any one who could narrow down the areas to target it would be greatly excepted. also any reports of surface fish that have been encounted in the area that gives us an idea of what to target if any one with knowledge heading out @ the end of september send us a pm as my buddey may have to pull out due to work so someone who can use a gaff would come in handy. thanks guys lets hope the wind stays away for the weekend so we can get outside.

S.S.

Tell you what, you Ausfish guys are certainly a lot more helpful than the tackle shops on the island. They didn't have a clue. The locals are less than helpful too. A few have been on the island a little too long me thinks
    Anyway, we were there the weekend just gone and caught a few flatties, whiting, dart and mullet just east of Amity Point. Couldn't fish anywhere else as both sides of the island were totally blown out.
    We ended up heading home a day early and fished the pin for a shipload of flatties.
    We considered North Stradbroke for future holidays and decided that Fraser Island is a much better place to be.

thanks for that s.s but i was chased out of the water on frazer surfing at indian head by a @ 15 foot tiger sharkand i know there out at straddy too and have seen a big tiger while surfing down main beach but after the tearing to bits ive witnessed in the shore dump at frazer i think ill take me chances out straddy. as for the non helpfull locals i can understand a bit as i come from a small little paradise as well and the last thing they would feel they need is hundreds of funny little fishermen casting over there hook ups and other treacherouse activity but hang in there bloke keep asking and be respectfull and like my home eventually you will strike the right friendlly local at the right time that will set you in the right direction. ( the pubs probley a good start. ) good luck at frazer have heard reports of some thumper whitting last week.

To S.S, I would just like to say that as a local who does try to help people with advice, I feel a little offended. I would just like to repeat myself in saying that the yabbies are at one mile.

G'day. I consider myself a bit of a Straddie regular, and whenever me and my mates head over there, we always try and spend some time spinning the headland at Point Lookiout, or the rocks between Frenchman's and Deadman's. The main species are Tailor, Big-Eye Trevally and GT's - seen some pretty big GT's taken from both locations. I have had one giganic bustoff from a Kingfish off the rocks below the gorge walk at PT Lookout (Spetember last year)....I know it was a kingy coz it nailed a lure on the surface right in front of me!! My mates dad has caught a few mackerel from these locations over the years as well.
    As for jewie's, im not too sure.....ive tried big soft plastics off the rocks once or twice, but with no success.
    cheers!

thanks for the input all very helpfull for me. i will take all this info and advice over and depending on the weather will target from herring to marlin and if the fish r not around or the surf blows onshore all week i will swim fro main beach to flinders for something to do ( not ) a shady tree with a cool drink sure beats worken 10 hrs a day , counting the sleeps foockchucker.