me thinks notOriginally Posted by lefty_green
"The underlying spirit of angling is that the skill of the angler is pitted against the instinct and strength of the fish and the latter is entitled to an even chance for it's life."
(Quotation from the rules of the Tuna Club Avalon, Santa Catalina, U.S.A.)
Apathy is the enemy
THis might be a stupid point left greeny, but if you read this site carefully (Or take the time to get to know everyone on here before diving in head first), you might notice that most people on this site support catch n release for 99% of their catch!
So taking 1 fish from 10 (or 20-50) for the table when you go fishing once a week, is not going to have any impact against the trawlers that run EVERY day, and take anything that's in front of them...
And if you know anything about statistics (Which I did do at Uni), the numbers we are talking here actually fall into the category of safely saying the people mentioned above (that support cnr) have NO impact on fish stocks!
me thinks not[/quote]Originally Posted by Jeremy
Lefty Green? It's a moniker that is likely to make anyone sound sus, and certainly not appropriate for a rec fisher.
Just wanted to add a few things. Lefty if your so concerned about PP than why don't you stop fishing there than? Jeremy people are entitled to there opinion.
I must agree with dan here, majority ppl i have seen put postings up have been a big supporter of catch & release which is good. Neways Im only new to so I shouldn't waste nemore of my postings like my other 39 or so.
Can you tell me the data sets you used to come up with this conclusion? Lets see - there are at least 880,000 people that go fishing annually in Queensland (sunfish data). I would think that at least half (i.e. 400,000+) would go fishing in the area from Fraser Is. to the border. That is alot of recreational fishing effort in a relatively small area. I wonder what statistics you could apply to this data Dan?Originally Posted by Fishin_Dan
Fishinmishin - how one-sided is ur argument? For you to say "whats the point of having a good fishing area if rec fishers aren;t aloud to fish there? seems a little strange" is ridiculous. These areas could provide spawning havens or allow juveniles to grow. It may surprise you to know that great hunks of areas are closed to trawling. Also, trawling in the bay is limited to Sun-Thurs so they can't work every day as you erroneously point out. And as for "Anyhow, you state that fish numbers are so low in the PP that's it is hard for recs to catch much, well how much damage are they really doing then." the damage is done! And your comment about selectivity is absurd - if rec fishers were selective they wouldn't be using no.4 hooks!
kingtin - can't you be a greenie and a rec fisher?
sandgroper - I havent kept a fish I have caught in the passage in 15 years. I use lures and everything I catch goes back.
I think we're done here
i think instead of making fishing no-go zones, they should make the spawning season catch and release only..
[quote author=lefty_green link=1125463337/30#35 date=1126480728<snip>
kingtin - can't you be a greenie and a rec fisher?
I think we're done here[/quote]
Hopefully we are.
Yes, you can be a conservationist and a rec fisher, in fact rec fishers as a whole are amongst the most conservation minded people that I have ever met, and they often see the "bigger picture" unlike the pot smoking tree dwellers who can see no further than their next bit of draw.
I put it to you though, that you are fully aware that your deliberate use of "Lefty Green" conjures up pictures of dole bludgers, students hanging from trees when they should be studying, demonstrators provoking police and then crying foul, and animal rights activists. You are also likely aware that words like "lefty green" would be provocative on a fishing site. If you aren't aware of that, then you are as politically naive as the vast majority of "lefty greens" or are deliberatelyy trolling. Quite simply, a stranger shouldn't walk into a crowded room and start gobbing off and not expect to be received with at least suspicion, and more likely animosity.
"Lefty greens" always remind me of the Pharisees in the temple praying in public............."Look at me people, I'm holier than though"......... IOW, I'm doing the business to save the planet and the rest of you are sinners. Bloody hypocrites who bring nothing but disrepute to *true* conservationists who strive to bring about change within a democratic framework, without blowing their own trumpet, costing others their jobs, or wasting taxpayer's money.
yes, I think we are done...........welcome to the site mate.
"Can you tell me the data sets you used to come up with this conclusion? Lets see - there are at least 880,000 people that go fishing annually in Queensland (sunfish data). I would think that at least half (i.e. 400,000+) would go fishing in the area from Fraser Is. to the border. That is alot of recreational fishing effort in a relatively small area. I wonder what statistics you could apply to this data Dan?"
They might all be rec. fishers but how many catually catch fish? Also bear in mind that organisations may be prone to stretch the figures a little to attempt to get extra government funding.
There have been some good points raised here...PP..I can still catch fish there...especially bream in winter...easy as pie..if you want a lesson next winter just holler and I will show you...no fancy gear..an 8' boat rod..an alvey reel and some chook gut...really simple.
I have been fishing the Pin and PP since I was 12..which amounts to 37 years...the changes I have noticed in those years are many and one of the most significant is the population increase and the number of waterside residential areas. We used to go to Point Halloran and dig yabbies..you had to park about 1 km from the point and walk through the mangroves...there was even a tree house in one of the mangroves..we used to stay on that overnight and catch heaps of bream..what is there now? residential estates..no more mangroves. Jacobs Well...Cabbage Tree Point..extra houses...PP..extra houses..all on the waters edge..so what is missing in these locations now? mangroves..fish breeding habitats..plus the added pollution such as run off from these houses...the increased population has encroached on the fish breeding habitats not to mention the extra water traffic and associated pollution with that. I moor my boat at Horizon Shores for one reason..I still love the Pin...one of the best places I know to sit back and relax...alas many others enjoy it now also but they are not all fishos.
Trawling has caused a lot of damage and so has the increased population but my thoughts are that these areas are for everyone to enjoy...guys like Rob (mackmauler), Greg the Banks boys all do well at their fishing but they cover a lot of miles to do it...good luck to them and they catch some great fishes.. they choose to travel to enjoy their pastime..me..I prefer to just sit back and relax and dangle a line these days and spend more time relaxing instead of serious fishing..so get off their case and let them be...they have spent a lot of time and money becoming as proficient as they are at their sport...go and annoy someone else lefty greenie..
As for your C&R..be careful..you will be the target for the radical greens before long...i am also wondering how many of those fish you relaes actually survive..do you have any data on that?
Hey Greenpeace dude do you have the statistics on the survival rate of your releases of your catch? How do you know that 880,000 people who fish in Queensland do the right thing? Can you tell me personally that you have seen any of the so called 880,000 people fishing in Queensland doin the wrong thing? Do you drive a car? Do you live in house? Because if you do your not helping the environment, cause everything you do has an impact on the environment! If your so concerned about the environment than go live in the bush and live off the land, though I suppose you against killing the wildlife. Maybe you should join the PETA!
He he he he....
How much fun is this!!! And to think I was trying to take the educated avenue on this thread...Oh well, guess it's all just down to:-
[quote lefty greeny guy-ey thing]"Well ner-ni-ner-ni-ner-ner - I know better than you, and that's that, you can all bugger off! [/quote]
hey lefty [smiley=end.gif]
Hey Dan - I didnt say anything like that so please dont give everyone else the impression that I did. You did try to take the educated avenue on this thread but you didnt have any facts to back up your statements.
Sandgroper - Sunfish, the body that represents all rec anglers, quoted 880,000 anglers per year.
Kingtin - wow back to the pharohs?
Pinhead - you make some good points, some that even back my argument that trawling isn't necessarily the reason for the reduction in fish numbers. Thanks
Maybe a few of you should wack on the Gloves go the knuck and be done with it
Had to put 2 cents in
MAD!
Yep, aren't we supposed to learn from the lessons of history?Originally Posted by lefty_green
Mate, your sarcasm isn't going to get you any freindly ears. If your aim is to have others question their attitudes and educate them to other thinking, then your provocative manner is doing you more harm than good. I illustrated by my last post just how the antics of the loony lefty greens alienated them from "moderate thinking" people who strive to acheive change in a democratic and peaceful manner.
Your, and I qoute,
"Why is this? There are no trawlers or beam trawlers working down there! How can this occur if there are no trawlers? It wouldnt be the massive increase in rec fishing effort would it?
You have dug yourself a substantial hole there mate - I cant wait to see how you get out of this one??"
would have been provocative even amongst a group of people who knew each other well. It was sarcastic and uncalled for and to come amongst us as a stranger and then "throw down the gauntlet" in such a manner is not only angering to others but is as totally unproductive in this arena as a demonstrating lefty green tree dweller in semi-detached suburbia.
Change your attitude and you may get someone to listen to your arguments, continue in this vein and you're on a lost cause. You can take this advice with the good intention in which it is offered or come back with more sarcasm, I personally couldn't give a flying toss because *I* have no cause or agenda, it's *you* who are trying to make a point.