Thread: Opinions on how to keep fish in good condition?

Opinions on how to keep fish in good condition?

G'day all,

Heading up North Qld for 10 days soon, just wanted to know how long fish can be kept on ice, and is it better to freeze them or keep them chilled to bring home with us. Do you guys fillet them or keep them whole (obviously gutted though).

We just are unsure if dry ice would be a better option than party ice?

Thanks.

Re: Opinions on how to keep fish in good condition

Id be icing them immediately and then filleting, freezer bagged id, and in the freezer at the lowest temp possible.
    The Rainbowrunner
    Peter Hansler
    phansler@hotmail.com
    Click here for my webpage
    Click here for my videos

Give a man a fish, he'll eat it and fall asleep.

Teach a man to fish and he'll endanger an entire species

mate get yourself an old 40ltr eski,put dry ice thru the bottom about two inchs thick,cover that with a damp heshion bag then put your party ice on top.the dry ice will keep your other ice hard for about 8 to 10 days fillet and bag your fish and slide it to the bottom of your party ice,put some containers in amongst the party ice as it goes pretty hard and the containers will give you something to put the fillets in amongst the ice. hope that helps a bit cheers AL

DaveSue_Fishos_Two

Both of the above a good sound advice. 10 days is a bit too long to be relying on party ice alone to keep the catch well.

Get the fish straight on ice, I'd put dry ice down on the bottom than lay a cloth over that and sprinkle party ice ova it, You can leave the fish whole or fillet, just make sure the fish is well buried in the ice!

Thanks heaps guys,

Great ideas there, I have 2 Tropical boxes a 52lt & 82lt, so I'll use the 52 for storage for each days catch using just party ice (availabe everyday as we are staying at the pub) & then transfer the fillets to the 82lt with dry ice & party ice idea at the end of each day.

Thanks heaps guys!!!!!!

No worries, hope you get plenty! Don't forget to drop some off to us on your way home!

Quote Originally Posted by fisho_vanders
    Thanks heaps guys,

Great ideas there, I have 2 Tropical boxes a 52lt & 82lt, so I'll use the 52 for storage for each days catch using just party ice (availabe everyday as we are staying at the pub) & then transfer the fillets to the 82lt with dry ice & party ice idea at the end of each day.

Thanks heaps guys!!!!!!
    Can't be planning on keeping many fish with those small eskies. Why don't you see if you can freeze the fillets down in the pub cold room. Might cost you a couple of fillets, but I see it as being the best option.

Ron
    Make something Idiot proof and they make better Idiots

Your right Ron, we only want to keep enough for a feed each night & then bring a few home for family & friends. We don't see the point in keeping masses of fish just to sit in the freezer for the next six months. Those days should be long gone!

Yeah we are planning on using the coldroom/freezer at the pub, the main reason for the initial question was because it is a 23 1/2 hour trip home if we drive straight through, but we are planning on stopping at a few of the barra dams on the way home, so the fish may be in the esky's for 36-48 hours.

thanks,

12 volt travel freezers are cheap as at the moment.
    The Rainbowrunner
    Peter Hansler
    phansler@hotmail.com
    Click here for my webpage
    Click here for my videos

Give a man a fish, he'll eat it and fall asleep.

Teach a man to fish and he'll endanger an entire species

hi fisho
    one think if you freeze then leave the scales on this stop freeze burn.have fun and good luck
    danny

Thanks for all your suggestions guys, much appreciated!!!!!!!

fisho.....