need help with jewies

Thread: need help with jewies

need help with jewies

can someone tell me the best set-up for jewfish because i've never caught one, i've caught a few trag but thats not the same!!!!
    I wanna make the first one a big one
    john

Re: need help with jewies

G'day Mate, it goes without saying that it all depends where you are fishing for the Jewstar.. Me I target themoff the rocks at Hastings Point (just before light) using RMG scorpine lures and do okish, but if your fishing the beach then worm or small whitting are good bail in a river try deep water near bridges with squid or even live bait. As you can tell there are a heaps of ways to target jews but local knolage is always the best advice you can get ask around where you fish
    hope that helps a bit If your in the tweed area drop me a note
    Rainbow Trout is NOT skittle flavoured fish.........

live pike laz live pike!!

Laze

Just rig as you would for bream but with a longer heavy trace 30lb at least, my best was 42lb off the rocks at Port Macquarie and he took a fresh occy with a body as big as a golf ball (pros got them in snapper traps on 100f) with a 9/0 Sealy, 20lb line on 650c Alvey.

We always preferred slack water, and live or fresh bait, one of the best baits on the rocks is a rubbish fish called a wirrah.

Be prepared to give line initially, because they pickup bait crush it then turn it around before swallowing, when you feel a second run, hookup and he's yours.

Be patient it took me 5 years roughly to get mine although plenty of soapies and school jew in that time, at the time it was a milestone but I think they're overrated, for taste and fight.

Enjoy the occasion when you get the big one, and be sure to get the pearls out of the skull as a momento of your fish.

I had the skull cleaned by the ants,treated it to last, and 6 months later the dog ate it like a bone while we were out one night.

Cheers mate Richo

Richo

cheers i'll be mostly trying the river mouth of ballina when i get a chance and possibly close offshore reefs
    was hoping to get out tomorrow night but smashed my finger with the 4 pound hammer last night so not much will be happenin this weekend >
    thanx for the hints
    john

lazeabout_4.5 seeing your fishing Ballina you have to try the southn wall or even behind the RSL at night with Livies when I lived at Alstonville I was all\way hearing them being taken there best of luck.
    And as for only tasting so so I too though that till I tryed a bit of garlic granules and steak spice ... yes steak spice sprinkled on the flesh for about 1/2 hr. before cooking [smiley=chef.gif]

Ballina wall .. DAMN GREAT SPOT !!!! ( not sure if it beats hastings point though ...lucky bugger aussiefool )

It takes time and patience to get a BIG jew ...sure soapies canm be had off beaches after dusk with bneach worm , but the biggens are far and few between ,,...and not many people have taken a fat jew ....INCLUDING ME ...lost plenty though

live baiting the breakwalls is a good place to start .
    we normally walk the length of the breakwall letting the livies cover as much ground as possible ...once at the end , wind up , fresh bait if required and go for a walk again

With that said though , towards the bottom of the run out tide , front of the breakwall with livies out behind the eddies , or throw XOS plastics like shads in around the murky water changes ..

here's a pic of one of my lit' bros jew he got earlier on in the year down at Coffs to get you going ( i know ...little bastard isn't he !@!!!! )

Quote Originally Posted by Billo

here's a pic of one of my lit' bros jew he got earlier on in the year down at Coffs to get you going ( i know ...little bastard isn't he !@!!!! )
    yep your right billo it is a tad small for hastings point ....spose I could use it for a live bait though .. no really well done to the little bro.

aussiefool...I never considered hastings point as a jew spot....do u have much success there..PM me if u wish...

lazeabout....try to fish live bait always(if ur using bait) ..live mullet,pike,blackfish and tailor...I try to always fish unweighted live baits,drifted slowly with the outgoing tide at the mouth of rivers,lakes etc....there will be spots that are better than others,look for eddies,good tidal runs that will allow ur bait plenty of movement......then its just a matter of time..

thats a pretty big jewie ay
    i'll guaranty that i'll be out there as soon as possible