Thread: jacks and poppers?????

jacks and poppers?????

chasing macks up logan river 2morow mainly using prawnstars an hardbody lures. jus wondering if any1 has had any experiance with poppers and jacks? is it worth a try? ive never realy been into poppers but im keen to give them a go! any advice and techniques on how 2 use them the best way would b great.

Re: jacks and poppers?????

jacks not macks! whoops!

Work mate nailed one at his feet (landbased) just the other day on a popper. It was big too at 53 cm. He absolutely sh*t himself as you could imagine. I'm not convinced it's the most effective method though but boy if you hook one it would be good to see.
    Cheers, Mark.

sweet mate ill b givin them agood go 2morow! dont think ill even get close 2 53cm tho thats a bloody big jack ay good work!!

I think poppers would work no worries at all with jacks, but I think because of the territory Jacks live in, makes using the popper a difficult choice. Maybe they would work better targeting a snag in the middle of a river, where it is possible to cast over the snag and drag the popper across the surface, instead of trying to get poppers along the mangroves on the sides of the river.

Does that make scence?

Jacks LOVE poppers, just as long as you use them where and when they work best

ie next to snaggy jack country, when the tide doesn't run too much (either in an eddie current area or at slack tide) and ESPECIALLY when you see them smashing bait on the surface.

work em slow with big bloops

wear some nappies for the strike at your feet.

Best poppers: chug bug and rebel pop R

Yeah mate , they work great. I sometimes try them first because a jack has to come up to eat it and you have a better chance of getting him out of his snag. Fizzers work really well too, I fish them a bit faster than a popper. Sometimes a jack will follow the popper right to the boat on a slow retrieve and not eat it, when this happens you need to speed up the reteieve and as franco said the strikes are awesome.
    Give them a go , one jack on a popper is worth three on hardbody.

i know blokes that won't use anything else other than a fizzer for jack fishin'! finger size fizzer and dimension with tiny blades or just one blade at the rear! 'killers' so they say!
    JM

Far_Canal

yep poppers work wicked on the smaller jack especially. sometimes easier aswell saves you a few snags when your casting into structure.