Thread: Goldcoast offshore

Goldcoast offshore

Having trouble finding fish around the 12 to 24 fathoms reefs out from the goldcoast seaway.
    Do you have to fish the 36s and 50s to do any good in this area? #

gogecko

Re: Goldcoast offshore

I fish the same area, and prefer to stay in 12-18 fathoms, instead of going wide. Youre in the right area.

You need a fishfinder and gps to locate the reefs. A map of refs would help too. It helps if yu have some gps marks to get started.There are rock reefs that hold fish, and the rest is sandy bottom which is useless. Once you have located the fish, do a drift over it to check out wind and current before you anchor.

Then use a paternoster rig on the bottom on one rod, and a floatline rig on the other rod.

Are you doing all this?

Gday Gogeko,
    I have a GPS and a humminbird 3005 deep, i have been using very light sinkers which havnt helped, mainly fishing the 24 fathom area although coming home empty handed mostly.
    i have had a few blokes say you need to go to the 50s to catch fish in this area.

gogecko

50s is better, but large snapper have also been caught closer in where you are going.

Are you seeing fish on the finder?
    Are you anchoring over them?

You need lotsa sinker. Can feel the bottom?

The 24,s from the seaway run past the tweed sand anr reef plenty of fishing
    Try some burley if the current isn't to strong,between the 18 & 24 you'l get a good feed
    good luck

yeap can see fish on the sounder, how much lead is normal for this area, i did here 3 oz for float lining would be ok.

Only thing we go to the 50's for is Pearl Perch. Almost all our fishing is done within a 10km radius of the port of exit. You will catch heaps of fish up to the 26 fathom line including and not limited to Kingfish, Cobia, Amberjack, Jew, snapper, mackerel, wahoo, marlin... the list can go on. Hell, one of our most prolific grounds is within 1km of the beach!

There are no hard and fast rules with fishing, you adapt to the location and conditions. Sometimes out wide we hit bottom in 100m with no weight what so ever, other days 3 house bricks wouldn't help you.

It's all about adapting.

Ask specific questions and you will get specific answers
    Gold Coast
    WWW.GCFISHING.COM

Hi Heath,

OK being a bit more specific is the spot you are talking about the Scottish Prince Wreck by any chance.

Only for bait. However you are in the right frame of thinking.

The fish on your sounder could well be bait fish, but it is what is around them that is interesting. Tightly packed with a few arches around them would indicate larger predators feeding on them.

Sometimes there are no fish at all on the sounder yet you still get them, especially if there is a bit of structure around. They will come with a bit of berly. Lighter the sinker the better. But use what is required to get your bait down. I use the 45deg rule, that is I use enough weight to have the line at 45deg. This way I know I'll get to the strike zone. But again, it depends on what your going for. Palegics I use no weight no matter what the conditions.

What is it you have been targeting and what methods have you been using?

An excellent post to read would be the sounder thread.
    You will find it HERE

Have a look at the pictures and explanations, especially the depths. It will give you an indication of the depths people are fishing & what they are targeting.
    Gold Coast
    WWW.GCFISHING.COM

Don't focus on that super spot 1km out mate, Heath doesn't fish out the Seaway he goes out Tweed/Currumbin. Having said that he knows his stuff.
    Not to say that we don't hook up 1km out of the Seaway but you might have missunderstood him if you thought one of the most prolific grounds on the GC was 1km out of the Seaway. We're still waiting for that reef...

The likelyhood is that going to the 50's would not change your luck in my opinion (its a long way...) but adjusting your fishing will. Gogecko catches fish in close so do like me and keep practicing
    Good luck and don't give up.

thanks for the advise guys, it all helps to keep at it.......

Palm Beach Heath?

Gold Coast
    WWW.GCFISHING.COM

The way the sand s building up around the Currumbin Bar lately ,You"ll be able to walk out to the Palmy Reef

Hey Willo,

At least it will discourage the rif raff I am sure I will have a channel dredged for ya by xmas. Might give the spare prop a pollish

Retired Honda Master Tech