Thread: Any info on fishing Cardwell?

Any info on fishing Cardwell?

HI all,
    I'm flying up to FNQ next Wednesday night to drive down and fish the Hinchinbrook passage/inlets with my bro and his tinny. We've got maps and heaps of enthusiasm but our knowledge of the area is very thin. If anyone has any tips or hints for fishing this wonderful waterway I would much appreciate it. The trip will conclude on the following Sunday night. If I get lucky I'll post some pics of the trip ... but as usual don't hold your breath.

Sean

Re: Any info on fishing Cardwell?

Sorry,cant help.Last trip wrong tides and northerly winds.Caught a varietybut not many.good luck, slacky

Gday Havago, was up there last september but that was a little early according to the locals.Best lure by far was the manns +10 in the grey ghost colour, if your not the best caster in the world troll the smaller creeks and drains which youll find a good distance to the south of cardwell and always troll the outside bank(hard up against it) on the bends in the creeks ,you will find that is where the deeper holes are. Also try bait fishing the many small creek mouths on the run out tide(bottom half) plenty of jacks to be had, let me know if theres any other info you want, good luck.

Thanks hundgie, I'll definately take note of the tides, lures and locations. We're working our way south to Townsville so south of Cardwell is on the agenda. I was wondering if there were many creeks coming out of the western side of Hinchinbrook worth looking into?

Generally the coast creeks fish better than the island creeks. Paluma, Deluge and Gayundah are 3 of the bigger and better Island creeks. They're about half way down to Lucinda from Cardwell. Pretty good tides Wed to Sun - Low late in the arvo. Most snags/discoloured water will hold fish. The best trick is persistence and be as quiet as you can - can't beat electric motors if you've got one. I cast rather than troll and generally find that it's hard to find a lure that won't get eaten if it's put in front of a fish. PM me if you want, I'm Townsville based and I'm probably going to be up Hinchinbrook from Fri to Sun.