Trevally on the Bris Nth Side

Thread: Trevally on the Bris Nth Side

Trevally on the Bris Nth Side

Am thinking of getting out and chasing a few trevally on poppers, minnows, and SP's.

Just wondering if anyone knows of any places on the northside of Brisbane (From the river to Redcliffe) that produces trevors.

Any info would be wonderful. Am reading up everything I can about them to try and get a good start, but if anyone wants to give me a head start

PM me if you don't want to post it on here.

Cheers all,

Re: Trevally on the Bris Nth Side

I like to fish for them at night when it glasses out and throwing poppers. No spots 4 ya as i catch them on the gold coast. Some i like to use are storm chug bugs, halco night walkers or even fizzers work well. big slow bloops followed by a pause. hope this helps a bit Cheers Whytey.
    If you wish to learn more about reading and getting the most from your Lowrance units or learning more about fishing with artificial baits I will come out in the comfort of your own boat for one on one coaching. Please call for more information.

Ausfish Platinum Member madman1's Avatar

Hey Dan

They are around in the Pine much to my surprise. A mate took me out there about a year back and caught around 1/2 dozen for the arvo session. All were caught on live prawns and herring.

They put up a grear fight.

Try any deep water on the edges between Murrumba Downs and the Petrie bridge.

Good Luck

P.S. how did Friday arvo go?

MAD

Dan, if your work contract didn't fall through you would of been working up north and fishing with me yesterday. I nailed this one yesterday. Don't worry about not coming up and hooking into some decent GT's mate, ya didn't miss much and as you can see the weather is terrible.

mate - i nailed a 2kilo one off the banks at toorbul which is a bit north of where you are asking about but i swear there was one about 5-6kilo that came in to about 1 foot of water behind me and smashed the bait........i flung around thinking it was a shark or something and saw the whole head of him out of the water and huge mouth wide open.......i was using sp's chasing flatties..........other than that the only other place where i have had fun with small trevors is over at tangas at nite on poppers and slugs.........good luck trevor hunting

Quote Originally Posted by Mick
    Dan, if your work contract didn't fall through you would of been working up north and fishing with me yesterday. I nailed this one yesterday. Don't worry about not coming up and hooking into some decent GT's mate, ya didn't miss much and as you can see the weather is terrible.
    Yeah thanks Mick.... Rub it in why don't ya!!!! Looks like you hd a good day though!!!

I'll definately let ya know when I'm coming up... Gotta chase that client tomorrow now and harass them! "So I need to come up to fish... errrr... I mean work....."

Whytey - I've spoken to a few people, and it seems a general consensus that those conditions are great for em... Will have to go to the tackle shop and get some good lures methinks! Glad its pay day Friday!!!

Madman - I thought they must be around there somewhere... From the little I know, rock walls where it shallows up a fair bit seems to be the places to look for... My understanding is that they herd the bait fish up into the shallows, and smash em there... Will have to check out those areas...

Fridy was good.... A little too good, a little too big.... We ended up rounding up some strangers to make the numbers for the free platter... Turns out it was pretty crap anyway! But free food is still free food!

Shut Up - It's been years since I've chased em, and even then they were only little silver trevors down in Sydney. Still good fun though! So a now getting keen to get out there and get some bigger ones up here! Poppers seem to be doing well as we go into summer, and the visual aspect of that is fantastic! Am very keen to get em on SP's as well though too! I bet you nearly s@$t yourself when you realised what it was!!!

Hey Shut_Up
    My dad has a house out at toorbul, used to live there for 8 yrs myself never have come across a Treva there ay, you bloody bastard haha! Where abouts were you fishing left or right of the big boat ramp P.S i've nailed some ripper Parrot and Lippers there ay so where were ya fishing and what SP did ya get it on

Cheers Joel

Sorry for rubbing it in Dan. NOT!

Its Ok, offer still stands to take you fishing whenever you get here.

I'll hold ya to it!

And I'm sure there will be beer......

mate i nailed a coupla gt's near the northern bank at the bruce h'way bridge in the pine. also got one at deepwater nend at night on a p'star. also in the scarby canals - theyre there alright.

cuzza

That's where I was thinking Cuzza.... In those canals.... Poppers against the rock walls on a falling tide at sunset.

Will just have to go try I guess!

Caught a few in tonys gutter of donnybrook , might be a bit far north for you though .Ok Ok not me but the girlfriend gets `em there everytime we fish there ,,,,

Quote Originally Posted by Fishin_Dan
    Whytey - I've spoken to a few people, and it seems a general consensus that those conditions are great for em... Will have to go to the tackle shop and get some good lures methinks! Glad its pay day Friday!!!

Madman - I thought they must be around there somewhere... From the little I know, rock walls where it shallows up a fair bit seems to be the places to look for... My understanding is that they herd the bait fish up into the shallows, and smash em there... Will have to check out those areas...

Fridy was good.... A little too good, a little too big.... We ended up rounding up some strangers to make the numbers for the free platter... Turns out it was pretty crap anyway! But free food is still free food!

Shut Up - It's been years since I've chased em, and even then they were only little silver trevors down in Sydney. Still good fun though! So a now getting keen to get out there and get some bigger ones up here! Poppers seem to be doing well as we go into summer, and the visual aspect of that is fantastic! Am very keen to get em on SP's as well though too! I bet you nearly s@$t yourself when you realised what it was!!!
    yeah dan..............mate saw it too and he nearly grabbed the rod off me he was that keen.............i fished the passage all my life and until the last few years have never heard or seen these fish and others(queenies, grunter, sweeties etc) being caught..........do you do much outside/inside moreton?

Joel - down to the right of the boat ramp mate...........fished there for sometime now but mainly through winter...........mate and i have nailed some good feeds of bream, flathead and tailor there off the bank over the years..............it just goes to show how good the fishing has improved since they stopped netting..........we used to go there as kids and walk right out to the oysters lease out from an old bloke by the name of joe.............dont happen to know him hey?

les

hey dan ive caught quiet a few trevs in newport waterways at reddy/scarborough from gts to diamond and only once a goldy u just have to work small spinner or softies never tryed poppers there but they are there in numbers