-
Fish Id
This was caught near Bulwer from what I know. Its a Mate of a Mate so not sure. I asked Harro recently and he wasnt sure. The tail is a large fork like most trevors. See what you reckon. Nick
-
Re: Fish Id
looks like a rabbitfish of some type to me
-
-
Ausfish Gold Member
If it had big teeth, I'd say it was an Ausfish.
-
my vote is for a relative of the surgeon fish, the Hump-nosed Unicorn fish.
Grant says it is an algal feeder very rarely caught by anglers and is a very substandard foodfish. They must be pretty crook on the chew, because Grant isn't too fussy about his seafood - he reckons Sergeant Bakers are "a highly regarded table fish"
-
Ausfish New Member
longone,
i have to agree with jeffo and tony. it appears to me to be some form of surgeon fish or a very close relative. it was only recently that a good mate of mine caught one at tangalooma wrecks and everyone was under the impression that it was a surgeon fish.
Bill collector
-
Six plate sawtail
prionurus microlepidotus
nsw north to townsville qld
feeds on benthic algae
largest recorded-70cm
Regards, Tony