SP's would have changed heaps over the past 15 years. Try the watermelon and pumpkinseed colours for squire in the bay. So a search for SP's on the forum, there should be heaps of discussion on types and techniques.
Hi What are the best ones to use in the bay for sweetlip and squire ? And tecniques as well ?
I have only used these a couple of times about 15yrs ago and never caught anything on them .
Thanks fellas
SP's would have changed heaps over the past 15 years. Try the watermelon and pumpkinseed colours for squire in the bay. So a search for SP's on the forum, there should be heaps of discussion on types and techniques.
The ones myself and my mates battle over as being amogst the good producers are Zoom super flukes ( baby bass seems to be the killer colour ) , slatwater bass assisins ( just a dearer version of the zoom !?? ) , and powerbaitys .
I like the powerbaits myself , colour depends on light and water clarity , but pumpkinseed and Watermelon are the 2 favourties
Have to Agree with Billo with Greens being a favourite colour for fish in The bay but in saying this every colour will catch fish just depends on water clarity and the fish themselves.
Technique is to cast ahead of your drift and slowly wind in the slack line...make sure it reachs the bottom structure then SLOW LIFTS & 99% of the hits will come as the plastic sinks back down.
Use light jigheads in shallow water unless its a fast running tide or the sea is rough.....1/8th to a 1/4 ounce should do the trick.
In my opinion plastic profile is important so choose ones that have a belly and are soft and supple to give great action to make them look alive in the water.
Cast untill your arms fall off because they are not going to work for you in the first half a dozen casts unless you have beginners luck.
persistence is the key to success.
Cheers Brent
Hey Mick I find that powerbaits in watermelon, pumkin seed and smelt work well. Zooms are also a great lure and i have to agree with billo baby bass would be the best colour also find archansaur shiner both watermelon colours and smoke colours will do the job. Try to keep ur jig heads as light as possible to get u to the bottom. I sometimes use as light as 1/16 where conditions allow. Hope this helps mate. Whytey
If you wish to learn more about reading and getting the most from your Lowrance units or learning more about fishing with artificial baits I will come out in the comfort of your own boat for one on one coaching. Please call for more information.
actually Whitey , i have been using the SMELT with scales letely also ....seems to work pretty damn good actually .
As Brent said it though, with the squire , doesn't matter what plastic you're throwing if the technique is not right
Definately the berkley Power baits or the Snapbacks in watermelon. Work a treat.
Snags
Brent's right! You cannot go pass Zooms in baby bass
ZOOM ZOOM ZOOM (: The best thing is to keep your action very slow speed is not the key.
I wish you good luck as well (:
Thanks alot for the replys I will have to get some of those pumpkinseed and watermelon ones and just see how i go
Thanks Mick