FUSILIERS AS LIVE BAIT

Thread: FUSILIERS AS LIVE BAIT

FUSILIERS AS LIVE BAIT

I was just reading on the DPI & F web site (a mistake, I know) about Coral Reef Fin Fish. Fusiliers (top spaniard bait) are listed. Then if you look further down the page, general restrictions state that a rec fisher must not have in their possession any 'live coral reef fin fish unless they intend to return the fish immediately to the sea'. Does this mean we can't use them for live bait? Or does it mean we can only catch and use one at a time, with none in the tank?
    Bushbeachboy

Re: FUSILIERS AS LIVE BAIT

Good question. I think that you are not allowed to keep them alive on-board. It doesn't say that you can't return them to the sea with a loopy sharpened bit of steel through their backs.

G'day Bushbeachboy,

I'd say that Leo_N is probably right

But to make sure it might be wise to give the Fisheries Officers from the DPI a ring.

Louis

If you ask 6 fisheries officers for their interpretation of the regulation you will probably get 6 different answers as they generally DO NOT KNOW THEMSELVES.....be very careful. You would be better writing to your local member (or the Fisheries Minister himself) and getting him to get it in writing from the Fisheries Minister on his Govt, letterhead, that way your question is answered from the top and not subject to interpretation...cheers baldy

I suspect that if its got a hook through it, that constitutes being in possession. ( my opinion only)
    Rando

I agree with rando, if it is on the protected/restricted species list then at no time can it be legally be kept in your possession, that means within your boat unless being immediatley returned or use as bait of any sort. To take it out of proportion a little if you were to use a grey nurse shark as live bait you would be bent over by fisheries, fusiliers may be a less prominent species but are still protected and should be viewed in the same light as any other protected species. Just my 2c but i would bet my balls if you came across a compitent officer you'd be going home with a ticket.

Its not your fault if you accidently foul hook it through the back ...... or the nose. As long as you release it ....... after a lengthy fight that could go on for an hour ..... they put up a hard fight on 24kg gear lol.

Might be a bit hard to explain the rubber band through the eyes though ..... "officer it threaded the rubber band through itself, honestly." lol.

Jokes aside, I think you would be Ok as long as you didn't have an tank full of them. One livie out would be hard to prove it was in possession rather than being in the process of catch and release.

Quote Originally Posted by rando
    I suspect that if its got a hook through it, that constitutes being in possession. ( my opinion only)
    Rando
    Then ya say that you foul hooked the poor protected fishy and you will let him go straight away

Quote Originally Posted by rando
    Rando
    You can be in posession if you intend to return it to the sea. As it is in the sea, you cannot be at fault. You are quite clearly allowed to use fusiliers at dead bait, so I don't think using them as live bait is problem. Holding them on board could be.

The exception of course is during the reef closures.

Hi Everyone - is Fusilier the real name of this fish - trying to look it up on the species guide and its not listed under ths name.

Anyone know what it might be called genus/species etc.

I think real name is Caesio spp. (heaps of different fusilier species). I think maybe Caesio teres is the common one on the GBR.

fishingnottake

Quote Originally Posted by budge
    I agree with rando, if it is on the protected/restricted species list then at no time can it be legally be kept in your possession, that means within your boat unless being immediatley returned or use as bait of any sort. To take it out of proportion a little if you were to use a grey nurse shark as live bait you would be bent over by fisheries, fusiliers may be a less prominent species but are still protected and should be viewed in the same light as any other protected species. Just my 2c but i would bet my balls if you came across a compitent officer you'd be going home with a ticket.
    Fusiliers are not a protected species at all they are ot restricted in size of take amounts, the problem arises from the fact you are not allowed to keep live coral reef fin fish, it's just a product of a one size fits all legislation that doesn;t quite fit all, but it does need to be adressed, i've drafted a letter to mail to the fisheries minister tomorrow in an effort to get something in writing.

Grant doesn't have a photo of the one I saw gobbled up by a big spaniard on the GBR. From memory I reckon it was the Red-bellied Fusilier Caesio cuning (which evidently doesn't get to have a red belly until it dies)

I could be very wrong

No different from using undersize whiting or mullet for livebait I guess.

Theres no way during the coral reef fin fish closures that you can use a fusilier for bait. Its illegal to have or possess any coral reef fin fish alive or dead during this time so using one for bait is deffently against the law....