Anyone willing to share 1770 gps coordinates?

Thread: Anyone willing to share 1770 gps coordinates?

Anyone willing to share 1770 gps coordinates?

Just new to this site, and looking to head up to 1770 next week, would like to catch some decent fish after a 6 hour drive from down south, even some good fishing tips would be greatly appreciated!!! John

Re: Anyone willing to share 1770 gps coordinates?

John, asking for GPS spots on this site is like asking em to send u a $100 note.

Got many for the Gold Coast but none for 1770 atm.

John pack your mackeral gear from 1770 30 to 40 minutes travelling north about 2mile off Busted Head there is some exposed bomi's great for the mackeral this time of year

i'm sure the local tackle shop can point you in the right direction..

& i amsure some on here would probably rather send you a $100 note than give up their spots

Yeah, thought I'd try my luck at getting em, I'd almost be willing to send out a few $100 notes just to get some decent fish!!! turns out the closed season starts on Monday for 9 days again so its a change of plans, going to rainbow beach/fraser area, thanks anyway for the hints!!!

gps points
    hmmmmmmmmmmmmmm
    bad for asking
    cheers [pete

seems that way, maybe I will keep mine to myself from now on too!!!

G'day The_Sponge,

I'd be into my local tackle shop and pick up 500 fishing GPS hot spots or something similar that will put you on reef in that area...I'd also check out charts from the area and look for depth line changes etc to get an idea where the lumpy bits are, then sound around to find bait and fish holding bottom structures

I don't have any marks up there yet, but will be going up there next september with a mate who knows his way around..I'll check him to see if he's feeling generous and PM any marks he's prepared to share...he works up to 75 klm off shore...

Yep...some folks are real protective of their marks...but some are willing to share...

Watch your PM's

><((((º>.¸.•'´¯)

Life is a mystery to be lived, not a problem to be solved, Gabriel Marcel

Thanks Rhys, I have now had a change of plan for next week due to the reef closures that another member alerted me to, going to head out from Rainbow Beach and have a look around there, no one likes to come back empty handed though, which is what i've been doing lately.

I can give you some GOS waypoints for Darwin Harbour, Dundee Beach, Finnis River, Bynoe Harbour, Ect ect, I think it is weak for fishos to be so tight lipped about there GPS co-ordinates.

Lets say for example, the Mouth of the Adeliade River, I have 30 + waypoits for this area, there are some I would hold back, but it wouldn't stop me from pointing someone in the right direction with good area waypoints and let them know to explore the area, you do't have to give away your prized spots, but if you have your favourite spot and than your secondary spots in a area, why not give up a couple of those.

If ANYONE is every heading to darwin, PM me or email me at bcav4114@bigpond.net.au and i will happilly give you waypoints for the areas i know.

If your already in darwin, I happy to swap hopefully for some waypoints in areas I have never been.

With the amount of people out on the water you would need a cloaking device not to be seen by someone, we had a SECRET reef at Charlse Point that produced good numbersof large snapper and it only took 3 trips to arrive one day and there where 15 boats already there, Im sure most of these people had know about this reef for years but hadn't fished it.

I was fishing a comp at dundee and on the first day we cleaned up and where well ahead on points, the following day we left 30 minutes later, feeling confident, as we left the boatramp we where followed by 4 boats, these people had caught nothing the day before so they decied they would follow us............(in a comp mind you), we cottoned on and pulled up on catfish heaven, nothing but black mud and fished, all the boats pulled up around us one within 15 meters. After catching our crab pot bait we pulled anchor and went over to the closest boat and told them that if they wanted to know our fishing spots they should have just asked, I wouldnlt have told them untill after the comp, but I still would have told them, the spot is not a secret, you can see it from the boat ramp.

What annoyed me about this and still does, is that the boats pulled up really close to us and set the anchor, I fish with a 60lb handline and if i hook a jewfish it will run a long way around the boat. I have lost too many fish on other peoples anchor ropes. I dont mind if the person knows the spot and has planned to fish there, I hate the followers, they see you fishing and they drive round and round you staring at the depth sounder trying to work out what your fishing on, All you need to do is pull up as close as you dare, mark the spot, come back and explore later. No one is affected. I dont fish at super secret spots.

We have now taken to using a popper and casting to our casting range to hopefully prevent people coming too close, there are some places where fishing close to each other is un-avoidable (ie bynoe jetty reef) and so be it, But i think it is just plain rude to circle someone for 20 minutes trying to work out what they are fishing on, I rather you called ask and asked where a good spot to fish is that isn't 5 meters from my boat.

should stop winging now, if you are in darwin and want some way points let me know.

Sponge,

I see it's been hard going trying to get a few spots. I have a page of spots that I'm willing to part with for 1770. They not exactly a big secret as this page can be sourced from the local tackle shop up there. Just buy a few packs of bait or something of him and he'll be more than happy to copy the sheet for you. As another member suggested, get a Cairns to Byron Bay GPS book which has plenty of spots for both Rainbow and 1770.

I do have a few spots for Rainbow as well but this area is not that easy to fish unless you have a big boat (very long bar, like 5+ nm and breakers if you don't know where the channel is) or willing to launch off the beach. A good option would be to get onto Tony Stewart who runs a charter from Carlo Point which would give you a head start - he consistantly gets onto good reds. When you do head up to 1770, Gary ???? runs a charter called "Freedom" and is exceelent value.

I just realised that you are probably already on hol's. Let me know if you need some general marks for next time.

There are plenty of spots that can be fished up there (both 1770 and Rainbow) wihtout GPS marks. Heaps of reefs from 3 miles to 30miles from the bar.

What sixe boat do you have mate????

Hi there black sheep, yeah you were right, just got back from rainbow, the bar is bloody huge and rough..........plenty of white water but my boat handled it well. I have a 6.4m trailcraft with a 200 4 stroke on the back so she's got plenty of grunt, I would not like to try crossing in a small boat especially with all the storms around low tides. Did not bother going out through the bar yesterday as Wednesday was getting even messier, drove up to Hervey Bay to try and fish some calmer waters but it was crap too, no fish N/NE winds suck.........and the big swells make fishing a chore. Went alright on Tuesday and Wednesday out through the bar at rainbow, Tuesday we caught allot of fish although mostly undersize but a big variety, coral trout, red emporer, pearlies, moses perch, spotty mackeral. The spotty was huge 1.2m long, I did not know they could get that big, and the reds were just under at 50cm, have not caught them before, they are a huge fish even undersize. Tuesday just bagged out on pearlies. Going to head out to the barwon banks hopefully before xmas, have not been there before either, will let you know how I go out there.
    Cheers mate

I was up that way a few months ago in same situation as yourself and the guys at the tackle shop in 1770 were a great help for me and i also got some marks out of a book which cost me 5 bucks. Caught good variety of fish and once out there follow other boats, theres plenty of reef out there.

Kid