i like to use fresh roo bones with meat on the bones off course always works for me
chanquetas.. you don't have to question me and I will not be getting a new hobby. I was only looking at another alternative of useing crab bait untill it was pointed out the pollution in waterways. kerro on bait (no way).
And I believe It was High Tide not Turkey Boy that made a comment on pollution with outboards and factorys which is a sad fact but true.
Slugo, it would seem you DID intend to kero the bait. However, I appreciate that you have reconsidered. No offense meant mate, so apologies for that. Im just keen on keeping things green and clean on this planet.Originally Posted by slugo
You will see from my earlier quote that turkey_beach_boy has changed his name to High Tide, thus he is one and the same.
High Tide: No offence meant to you either mate. Happy fishing.
I'm with you buddy. Kero should be used for what it's made for and not stuck in our waterways. Polution matters.
no problem .mate.
I used to fish the Daly River in the NT back in the 70s ..Had on old blackfella mate called Banjo who would kill a roo and hang the carcus from a tree letting the maggots drop into the river . He would then catch the DR prawns that fed from them and have a bag full for barra fishing when Id get there.Never missed out on quality fish with old Banjo.Maybe one day Ill do a bit of a story about him ,he taught me so many things in life .
So I reckon roadkill would have to be the go .. Merry Christmas to all
cheers Terry
Cheers Tezza
Hey guys I am new to the site.
I simply get fresh mullet frames from my local fishmonger, who sells mullet fillets. They come with the head, guts and backbone/tail and thats pretty much the best bits that the crabs are interested in. Works a treat and at $1.45 a kilo a hell of a lot cheaper than buying frozen bait mullet from a tackleshop.
I also find that Brunswick sardines in soy/olive oil scrunched up in a zip lock bag and then added to the bait bag along with the mullet frame works well and again cheap as chips, $1.20 for three tins !!! Cat food is a waste of time.
I have never had much luck with chicken or other meat in my pots, maybe I should use more stinky ripe and oily meat in future. Mutton flaps might work well.
I know that crabs will eat their own from time to time. I once tried the corpse of a muddy that didn't make it through the previous nights storage , he was already pretty ripe when we removed him in the morning, but was expecting great things from him baitwise but got nowhere with that pot.
Can someone explain why kero should work to attract muddies ?
quick spray of WD40 or CRC
Ken
Last edited by kencrab; 24-01-2008 at 08:34 PM.
Commercial crab fisherman here in Tassie all use a combination of fish head and every pot has a COW HOCk placed in it....They do stink, but they work a treat
We do a crabbing trip yearly at the pin with a real gun crabber... Been doing it for years.
He uses pigs trotters... I asked one year where do you get pigs trotters.. He told me "from pigs"...
never asked again !!!
we use cat fishwhen we getem
cheers bill
any day on the water is magic catching fish is a bonus
bunter i also use catfish and i am surprised that more people dont , they are good free bait that lasts for ages and works really well only problem is there stink i dry reach checking the pots sometimes from it . I am guessing that kero , wd40 and crc would absorb the fishy smell into the oil maybe so it leaves a burley trail , but i dont think it would be to good on the water ways , anybody reading this should keep the next catfish they catch and put it in a pot and see how good it is .
nico .
Roo meat or bullucks heart or if desperate cans of cat food with a few stabs of the knife works a treat. Also when i catch a jenny i always leave it in there.