Thread: barwon banks maybe??

barwon banks maybe??

gday all
    i've been looking at all the reports from the barwon banks lately and ive been wondering if its too far or not for our boat. we never been more than 15-20 kms offshore in it before and its a 2002 quintrex 5m bowrider with a good 90 merc. do u think it would big enough to to have a good go at the banks
    thanks
    bball

Re: barwon banks maybe??

its a quintrex so probably not, liable to go straight to the bottom, some 5m boats go well out there.

plenty of good spots in close mate... be worth looking around for them as i reckon the banks will be screwed in no time. the amount of fish being pulled off there at the moment is crazy!!

yeh the place is copping a good flogging isnt it but after a fair few friutless trips in close i do want to get out there. if there are some good spots in close i am yet to find them but it doesnt look like ill be getting out there for a while as the boat is to be put on the market soon. but next boat will be bigger and better i hope.

ps. are the trawlers attacking the banks in numbers yet?

Those reports arn't really from the Banks....everyone is lying...they are from Murphies .

I can't see why you couldn't head out there in that rig; you just have to pick your weather. It's a good hour (+) run out from Point Cartwright, so you just need to be able to carry enough fuel. I go out there in a Seafarer V-Sea, and there are plenty of other similar sized boats out there. Fuel and weather are the only things you should be concerned about, assuming the vessel is in good working order with appropriate safety gear and at least one good 27MHZ radio. When everthing comes together, I would suggest tagging along with someone for the first trip; maybe they'd even be kind enough to give you a couple of marks.

NICK.

I'd at least get a strong tonneau cover with a couple of bows in it (like a ute) for the front of it to shed some water. It's only when you need it that you'll want it and the barwons is a long run home when the weather turns shitty. A 5m quinny is going to take a looong time to come home in chop.
    nil carborundum illegitimi

well quintrex are they a boat all they do is broach in following seas very rough split very easy not a boat i would buy again very good luck bluebird

mate if ya know the ocean well and what ya boat can & cant handle even beter well ofcourse ya can. an hour + aint really that far