Red Tube/Beads for whiting

Thread: Red Tube/Beads for whiting

Red Tube/Beads for whiting

I've always used red tube and red beads above a hook bait fishing for Whiting. I was shown this as a lad and have read it in numerous books and mags. Does anyone have any views on this positive or negative?

Cheers [smiley=laola.gif]
    "This space is saved for my next special catch"
    "Rainy" Haines Hunter 540C Yamaha 130 HPDI
    28lb King Salmon
    18lb Steelhead (Rainbow) Trout
    12lb Brown Trout
    6.5lb Brook Trout
    12lb Murry Cod
    6'+ Bronze Whaler Shark

brett_rokesky

Re: Red Tube/Beads for whiting

Not sure if it works or not, though i have caught whiting etc when useing these them.

CHRIS_aka_GWH

i usually fish a "blank" line side by side with the tube

tube wins in all but very clear, skinny water and deep water (over 2m) in which the red spectrum doen't penetrate anyway.

It has other advantages, such as presenting the hook foward & protecting a light trace from other bycatch such as jew & flatties so sometimes I use it anyway if those guys might be about

i use a bead between the sinker & the swivel in a running rig when night fishing to ensure the sinker runs smoothly & doesn't get caught on the knot.

i use a red bead in the surf for dart - absolutely results in a better strike rate

Agree with chris.

i like the lumo ones for night also

Do you think the glow is an extra incentive when the scent of bait draws them in or will they have a go at glowing things without the bait?
    "This space is saved for my next special catch"
    "Rainy" Haines Hunter 540C Yamaha 130 HPDI
    28lb King Salmon
    18lb Steelhead (Rainbow) Trout
    12lb Brown Trout
    6.5lb Brook Trout
    12lb Murry Cod
    6'+ Bronze Whaler Shark

i use 3 rods for whiting use red tube on one but the 2 with out i find catch more fish

I was standing beside my mate i was using red tube he wasnt , and i was catching more than him, I dont know if it was the tube or luck but I always use it anyway.

Was fishing very shallow surf on the weekend, and could actually see the whiting chasing my red hook even though it was baitless, so in my mind there is plenty of truth in red being an exciter/attractant for whiting.

Have bought a few packets of beads and tube over the years and stuck them away in a tackle box, but never used them.....might just give them a go this weekend and see if they work. I always use red baitholder or red bloodworm type hooks when targeting whiting or dart.

I have always used red tubing. It acts as an attractant especially drifting for whiting and flathead. But of course you will catch fish with out it. I guess it is a personal preferance. A mate also has used the lumo beads at daytime with great results on whiting. He had a lumo on 1 line out of 4 and that one was catching the fish, so he put lumo's on all lines with great results. So you never know unless you give it a go.

Plus I don't think any disadvantages are involved with using red/lumo beads/tubing so you may as well use it if you have it!!

ive only ever used a bead and a piece of tube once (each).

the beaded line got chewed off by a mud crab, and the tube line caught the biggest toad fish i have ever seen, it was almost the size of a football, at least 25cm long. no it was NOT a puffer, it was just BIG.

so yes, they do work, kinda

in last 12 months, due to disappointing catches on any kind of bait (live or dead), i have gone the way of the lure.

i have a glow-in-the-dark Prawn Star, i have popped it on line once, but never caught anything.

and i think this is a new product....
    i have just picked up a baggy of Berkley Gulps Sandworm shape, in GLOW !!!

they are off-white when unused, half hour of twitching and jigging, and it turns white. and yes, they DO glow, i tested them before buying. im not too happy with the glow, it is the light green colour. i would have preferred to have been a pink or red glow. , or even better still, orange, which is a very good colour selection for jacks and flatheads.

for those who dont know about glow in the dark stuff, due to chemical composition, different colours have different strengths of glow. i think yellow and green are the brightest, while orange, red, and blue are considerabley lower in intensity.

back to usefullness for application.... lure makers wouldnt be spending tens of thousands of dollars on a gimmick, not that it hasnt happened before, but lets try to be realistic about this.

i have yet to catch any fish on anything that glows, reckon i will give it a go tonight, hmmm, or tomorrow.. really REALLY early in the morning (about 10 or 11 am, just kidding), i will get the kayak on the ute, and prep myself for a big day.

In my experience i have found that they work well.... I have also found that red hooks are better for whiting than normal bronze ones!!

Ausfish Premium Member

I've used a red bead heaps, and gone without just as much. I'm pretty undecided as to whether they work - when the fish are on, they're on and when they're not, they're not

Thinking about it a bit more scientifically, they probably could only make a difference in shallow water anyway, as red is the first colour in the spectrum to disappear with depth...

Good luck,

Graham_N_Roberts

I have to agree that there appears to be no science into the effect of beads to attract fish. Caught fish with beads ... caught fish without. Caught no fish with ... caught no fish without.

I do however use them, to protect the knot from the sinker in running rigs.

I'm yet to be convinced about glow in the dark lures. If the idea of a lure is to mimick food, then please tell me where I can get live prawns or baitfish that glow in the dark.

Surely natural colours, odour and action must be more effective?