Motion Sickness - Page 2
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Thread: Motion Sickness

Re: Motion Sickness

The more often you go out the better you get. I should know because i chuck all the time but not as often when going out all the time. Huuuuuuuuulg
    Graeme

PS. One hundred percent of all non smokers die. JLBOIL page 44

i'll definately use some of this info.. hahaha my old man gets sick as a dogg as soon as abit of chop or swell is about

al-straddie

Quote Originally Posted by johnnytheone
    Sitting under a tree works too.

Don't get sick stuck at work either ......Doh!

Here is an informative site on the subject

http://www.seasickness.co.uk/

I just started boating and heading out wide in the deep blue at christmas, when drift fishing fine. but as soon as i anchored whammmm. Feel sick and the accassional chuck. But all i had was 1 avomine a few hours before i went out and a bunderberg ginger beer to sip on and i have been fine everytime i do it ever since. Make sure you eat something solid. take an AVOMINE and if you still feel funny sip a ginger beer. And i find catching fish takes my mind off it aswell

Ausfish Platinum Member Big_Ren's Avatar

I'm lucky I haven't been crook at all, but I have heard that if you can see land, then focus on a particular point and don't take your eyes off it until you are feeling better. I have also heard that if you are underway and feeling sick, to weatch the wake directly behind the boat because it will always be flatter than the surrounding seas. Finally if that doesn't work, try eating a green apple (as apparently the acide pH of the apple will balance the alkali pH of your stomach...I'm no chemistry expert, it's just what I've been told).

Hope this helps.
    Ranger 188VX - "Sweet Chariot"

one of my deckys put one ear plug in works for him but makes him deaf in one ear hoga

avomine - if its good enough for the Aust and US navy, then its good enough for me.

My missus has just joined the northern marine unit of Customs. They prescribe Avomine too

I've had my boat just over 3 years and hadn't been sick yesterday. It was a flat sea with a small to medium swell. A choppy sea doesn't seem to bother me. I said to my mate on the way out that theses are the conditions that make me sick. Maybe it was on my mind. I fought it for over an hour then finally gave in, berley galore!

I might try some of the suggestions next time.

Darren.

Darryl

Mate i have tried them all and kwells actually make me sick, i use a brand called Dramamine and you dont get a dry mouth, you also dont feel like you have had 30 beers.

They are really worth a go and i highly recommend them.

Here's my 2 cents worth. I used to chuck everything includind my toes. Didn't matter if I had pills or not........ .......then one day I actually felt ok. I agree it seems to be the more you go the less you throw!!!
    "This space is saved for my next special catch"
    "Rainy" Haines Hunter 540C Yamaha 130 HPDI
    28lb King Salmon
    18lb Steelhead (Rainbow) Trout
    12lb Brown Trout
    6.5lb Brook Trout
    12lb Murry Cod
    6'+ Bronze Whaler Shark

try sucking on some xxx mints if you start to feel a bit green they seem to work ok but if it happens suck back for sure if you feel something furry it could be your ar@@ole. the only thing for sure is to keep busy boating good fish and if you have a tangle or trouble unhooking a fish do not keep looking at the deck get a freindly more seasoned stomock to help you out. just remember no one is immune even seasoned vets can get struck with the bile perge in half decent weather but a big night on the grog to much coffe or shit fatty foods do not do you any good on land so the oceans motions added can not help. avoid if you can cheers foockchucker.

gday all yeh im heading out on a fishing charter tommorw from southport with a group of guys from work but the weather says 20 -30knot winds 2-3 meter going out to 50fathoms i was thinking it may not be enjoyable in this weather the skipper said it would be ok to go out in but i could think of a heap of better things 2 do with $150 that rock around in the sea getting tangeld lines has any1 had any exp in area before?

wayne_cook

get them to pull up the anchor .
    doesn't make them feel any better but saves your back