Motion Sickness
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Motion Sickness

marcus

Motion Sickness

Any advice would be nice! I tried Kwells and they make me sick. Travel calm seems to work occastionally.

Re: Motion Sickness

Took my daughters boyfriend out a couple of weeks ago, on a previous trip he greened out after about 10mins.
    Advised him to get Travacalm tabs, but the chemist gave him Anagraine migraine tabs, turned out to be a long slow day with few fish & he was fine all day, just a bit dry in the mouth.

CHRIS_aka_GWH

marcus I don't suffer it

but

use the one that works best & start taking it 24hrs prior

avoid alcohol, caffiene & nicotine, drink lots of water & get lots of sleep & have a decent clean breakfast (fresh sandwiches / fruit salad). Have a sweet tea / coffee prior.

Out there suck on crystallised ginger or chew on a strong peppermint gum or lolly. Drink lots of water, stay in the wind, stay cool, stay busy, look at the horizon & hang out at the stern of the boat (it moves less) unless there's lots of fumes there.

It funny how guys stop being sick when action happens - the feeling gets overridden by the brain doing something else.

Do stupid stuff to break up the rythmic motion - jog on the spot, if the crickets on the radio pretend you are batting etc

Whatever you do don't think about the feeling, think about the scenery outside the boat, ya mates wife - whatever it takes.

Go fishing more often - sometimes you need to earn your sea legs.

If none of this works make sure you have a tin of salmon/sardines/tuna for breakfast.....

the others on board will appreciate the burley .

agree with chris, you just gotta earn your sea legs. I used to pop the travel sicknes pills till i just decided i had enough. I went 2 times without any pills, spilled my guts out a few times each time, but since then im good as gold.

Got to agree about earning your sea legs, but it's just as easy to loose them. Used to get seasick all the time then seems like one day the curse was lifted. Got to the stage where nothing was a real drama. Proabably hadn't chucked for about 10 years. Then a few weeks ago after a fairly long lay off from being offshore was out in a bit of a swell and that old familiar feeling came back. Next thing I waas chief burley maker. I think all the cr*p I'd laid on mates being sick in my boat over the years was coming back to haunt me.
    It's got to be one of the worst feelings in the world. One day hopefully your curse will be lifted but don't count on it never paying you a return visit.
    Still don't believe that no-one is immune. If someone tells me they don't get seasick I tell them it just means they haven't been in a rough enough sea yet.

brett_rokesky

A swig of rum and some fresh crab sangers stopped me throwing up on my uncles boat years ago ( i was only 10)
    Now i just chew on gum and avoid the grog the night before.

stay busy , and have a humble quick eze handy works for the wife and daughter arch...

and plenty of water

Get some Avomine from the chemist. Take it the night before the trip. It can make some people drowsy, but thats why it should be taken the night before. Then it works for the following 24 hours after it is taken.

yep avomine

chanquetas

Pineapple.....

Its the only thing that tastes the same coming up as it did going down...

Avomine as said is very good.
    Doesnt seem to make your mouth as dry as the others.
    The drowsiness seems to be more noticeable after the first dose... then ithe drowsiness seems to wear off..... maybe thats just me, maybe you just get used to the feeling.... *shrugs*

Also, having something to eat as soon as you feel that queasy feeling helps. Sandwiches are good.

A friend of mine's daughter was always motion sick in the car, let alone trying the boat. She even got sick on dead flat water in the boat...any type of motion made her instantly sick.

They tried her on all different types of motion sickness medications and nothing worked for her.

As a last resort, they tried the Sea Bands.
    Sea bands are an elastic wrist band with a plastic bead on the inside.
    They are designed to work on an acupuncture / pressure point in the wrist.

They worked on her....

She has not been sick since, and even goes out in the boat now.

I noticed they have them in Bias Boating for about $10

Maybe another option for you.

al-straddie

You can also get a natural ginger tablet for this problem, if like me you don't like the taste of ginger. I tend towards Travacalm these days, but they do make me drowsy.
    I've also found calm seas and a gentlle rolling swells the pits(maybe not enough to keep the mind occoupied)

al me to gental seas & swell thats my downfall to being through storms suva to auckland race guys died in it no worries not a monents sea sickness why ? bored so your body thinks may as well have a toss ? ive been embarrassed sick in calm conditions with a mod swell so illogical ! l cheers

i've never been sick, but l take tabs everytime I go out - Stugeron, double dosage of what's recommended 6-8 hours before, and then again every two hours while at sea. I reckon I haven't earned my legs yet, and since more often than not I pay someone else to go out it's not worth the risk of a bad day.

An interesting story I can relate is that if you have flu nothing will help you.

We hired a fly guide, Springbok rock and surf colours and a full time skipper when he's not doing anything else, to take us out off Durban (South Africa) - He'd been down with flu and got as sick as a Dog out at sea - he's become a good mate today, but he's never lived that trip down.

I know some people who've tried the accupressure with success. There are also those electro magnetic "wristwatch' gadgets that have had good writeups in a few magazines.
    Sitting under a tree works too.