Prawning in Townsville

Thread: Prawning in Townsville

Prawning in Townsville

I finally got the throwing action correct and while looking for prawns or live bait got cleaned up by rocks. net is in working order again and now i would like to know where the prawns hang out and when reasonable times are for prawn fishing/netting. Shoulsd i use a scoop net or continue with a cast net(9ft). How do tides and rainfall affect the prwns and the prawn netter??

Happy catching

Re: Prawning in Townsville

G'Day Kev, Castnetted Army boat ramp Ross Island 4AM saturday Morning and got 3kgs in 20mins. I still cant throw a net only getting half spread most of the time. They come up right under the lights. Security pretty heavy so you have to go in stealth like. Reel Quiet and mud from your last crab rubbed under the eyes and mangroves hanging from ya hat.

Unfortunately some yanks in for exercise so police (water) very heavy and on the prowl.

Nick.

Well done Nick.

My luck i will get busted and my arse kicked. tell me about your other secret spots

I tried fishing the incoming tide sat morning from roonets bridge. 1 Baracuda 45cm. Thats it

How did you go fishing?

Kev,
    After prawns we went out and threw some poppers around the mangroves while the kids bashed the bottom. Kids got 2 juvinile jacks, which went straight back, a 55 cm sand whiting, in esky, and about 5 yellow fin bream which all went back. I had no luck on the lures or soft plastics, but my mate landed a threadfin salmon, we didn't know what it was so I told him to get the dirty old cat fish outta me boat. On return home we checked the net to see what it was and we find out its good eating, oh well.

Nick.

Threadfin Salmon is great eating.

Great catch. Kids must have been happy too.

I am going to try the breakwater behind the casino on Thursday night.

Hopeful again.

keep catching em

Krazi-Kev,
    What time are you heading out thursday? I might be able to get a leave pass, so would you mind some company? Keen to have a fish and meet a fellow ausfisher.

Goddy

Hi Goddy,

Check your messages

Slient

a 55 cm sand whiting,
    Nick.[/quote]

Are you serious or kidding? thought sand/summer whiting grow to 50cm

Onto the first question, prawns come out to the mouths of the creeks after heavy rain, esp. in summer. They can be caught in numbers aound the sand-bars at the mouths of local creeks. Two good spots are the sand bar on the southern end of the mouth of the Ross River and the south end of the mouth of the Bhole R. Both are more easily reached by boat, but you can get to the Ross River one by 4WD

Quote Originally Posted by Silent
    a 55 cm sand whiting,
    Nick.
    Are you serious or kidding? thought sand/summer whiting grow to 50cm[/quote]

My bad, typo on my end. 35cm sand whiting. will proof read before sending in future.

Nick.

a true fisherman they always get bigger in the tellin'
    Any fishing is good fishing (should probably say Any fishing is...probably going to be illegal soon)

Thanks for the info LEO

I am landbased and will try near Boundary road on a low tide for prawns. The buggers are getting the better of me.

Happy catching

Kev