-
finally giving sp's a go at tempest shallow/deep
as title states, finally going to give em go. Have been just converted after fishing peel with em and will test em out on fri 31st. I'll have mates fishing with floating and dropper rigs for reds too, but i'm adament that the sp's should out do em.
To slow the drift down going to be using 2 sea anchors for and aft event though buoyweather reports only minimal wind, maybe give the 1/6th a go at shallow and the larger suckers at deep.
Should make a very interesting day, may also try some of the 1/2 way reefs on the way back from deep tempest.
I'll write up a report of how i go.. if any one else is headed out on fri, give me a yell "finding sanity" is the boats name.....
baitable
oh... any tips or tricks before friday, post m up!!!!!!!!!!!
-
Ausfish Addict
Re: finally giving sp's a go at tempest shallow/de
Hi Baitable,
I can almost hear the excitement in your post, and with sea anchors you should do really well. I have had the pleasure of getting outside in a much bigger boat than mine which is restricted to bay fishing, and I have learned heaps from my uncle who will really put you on the right track if you search his posts under Frankoo. If I can summarise for you, when fishing outside use Chartreause or vivid white 5" minows, don't get caught by not having heavy enough JH's to get to the bottom(even with seaanchors), 1 ounce or even 1 and a half ounce. Occasionally use XOS pink shads and crank them back to the boat hard. Tuna love pink. As always, the lighter the line the better the chances, but after using just 5 KG main line and similar flurocarbon trace ( still catching snapper with that combo) being blown away too often puts you around 8 -10 KG. Even then, I hope your reel has good drag
I am Looking forward to seeing your results
-
Re: finally giving sp's a go at tempest shallow/de
ok... here's the report......
Sun up and the sea was completely flat, hit deep tempest early starting with bait, nabbed good solid red 50+.... got a feed then began to use sp's
according to tol's suggestion, tried bayside 5" purple sp'd with a 1 oz jighead, proved successfull with many a fish taken. i guess 1 oz is a little light considering the current this time of year... maybe 1.5oz would be a little more suited, not even so sure i hit the bottom.. after pretty much bagin out at deep, worked shallow. mate of mine was using 5/8 jh and i used 1/16.. 5/8 was ideal for the 20meter mark.. worked a charm although far to many pickers out there. Mate hooked up to a wrasse and a moses both respectible.
your truly got owned on bream gear twice.
next went to spot xxxxxxx where we had to fight some very respectible snapper off.. almost every drift i can say i could land fish. pulled an ambo, and snapper. dont know the name but its not so far off the tip, very rugged bottom with plenty of activity and was ranging from 26 to 35 odd meters..
so in conclusion, i can say.... i'm still sticking to bait round deep tempest but anything under the 60 meter mark, i will only give sp's a go with 5/8th to an oz max jh. I personally saw that sp's far outfished bait and i'm sure livies too...
only real regret is that could not track down any pearlies for the day.
baitable