Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Thread: Bream: rate the bait.

Re: Bream: rate the bait.

gday kev,

we've used ox kidney and chicken breast down there and i must say had the best results with em! i find chook gut gets pickers there, as does mullet. just my experience though. hope all's good.

cuzza

Kev,

Put a vote down for me for chicken breast. Its all I use and gets the goods.

As far as hooks go will only use Mustard 4190 pattern in size 1/0. Cheap as chips and when they down the bait down deep it doesnt matter about cutting off and rerigging.

Use a sinker as per the conditions or run in the tide. Leader about a metre long in 8lb. (4lb main line)

I tend to cast in front of me( towards anchor) and let the bait drift down
    under and past.

As far as a berley mix goes slip in to Franklins etc and get yourself some dressed wheat. Mix up with some tuna oil and throw a handfull in here and there.

Cheers and let us know how ya go.

Steven

Steven

gotta agree with cunji from the rocks ,cant help with them in the river as i never targeted them there

george
    At Heaven's gate a soldier stood,
    his story ready to tell,
    St Peter said, 'no need my son all is understood,
    Go right in cos you've already served your time in Hell'

Hey Volvo, ( pete ), if that chicken strip marinated, doesn;t get them going, at least ya can eat it on the way home.

OH, Paul, no one has mentioned the ' best ' bait. and don't you dare !

Mussells in rocky areas and chook gut and strips of slimies in the shallows.

use to use steak with tuna oil in nsw around sussex inlet and never looked back,,,, then the old man threw me on cooked prawns,,, have had success rates better than most,,,,,,,,,being a bit hardier it holds the hook better,,, smaller fish tend to leave it alone more,,and if ya get peckish, tastes better than steak n tuna oil

also good on lizards!!!!!!!

can it get any better??????????????,,,,,,,,,,,,,,http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hgG_TxEPaQE

live yabbies during daylight hours and chook gut during the night..never used berley for bream...never any need to

a mate put me on to gar last year.

useing a small gang of hooks (size 2) cut a fillet off a gar then cut a bit to fit on the hooks and away you go.

Haven't tried chicken breast except with lemon & pepper
    I reckon chook gut (fisho brand, heaps of aniseed in it) and Kev, use a baitkeeper hook, I use a number one 9447.
    Remember the larger the gut bait the bigger the bream. I call them horse baits.
    I've recently been using whole herring, hooked just behind or in the back of the head and have been scoring some horse bream.
    Good luck, Billy.

nothing beats freshly caught herring and then cut up in small pieces! they dont peck this bait.. they fully smash em with authority!

fresh mullet strips is also a good one too!

chicken breast is ok.. but isn't that abit too $$$.. it's only bream you're catching.. save your $$$ on good tackle (ie maybe a cast net) rather than the bait..

just my 2 cents worth..

rob
    10% of people catch 90% of the fish

cunjevoi (works excellent in muddy water)
    small black soldier crabs with 4 on a hook
    yabbies (an all rounder)
    mullet strips (can get you a decent flatty also)
    live poddy mullet or live hardy heads

Quote Originally Posted by robdiep
    chicken breast is ok.. but isn't that abit too $$$.. it's only bream you're catching.. save your $$$ on good tackle (ie maybe a cast net) rather than the bait..

just my 2 cents worth.. #

rob
    Check the price of chicken gut from the bait shop, then weigh the packet and convert the price to a price per kilogram. You'll find that chicken breast from the supermarket is cheaper! Last time I did this the chicken gut worked out to $20/kg. #Never again!
    Cheers #Freeeedom

rob[/quote]

Check the price of chicken gut from the bait shop, then weigh the packet and convert the price to a price per kilogram. You'll find that chicken breast from the supermarket is cheaper! Last time I did this the chicken gut worked out to $20/kg. Never again!
    Cheers Freeeedom[/quote]

And don't forget that you're paying GST in the tackle shop, and shouldn't be for foodstuffs at the supermarket...

Good luck,

Good to see live "YABBIES" made it in, cant remember the last time i pumped some chicken gut, fillets etc. good baits are hard to find!!! you can pump all the yabbies you need for a fish in the pine (20-30) up on the mud near the bridge but you may have to work a bit harder than at the pin or toorbul, as for the size you always get plenty of little ones but the biguns make up for them

Quote Originally Posted by fishn-ads
    Good to see live "YABBIES" made it in, cant remember the last time i pumped some chicken gut, fillets etc. good baits are hard to find!!! you can pump all the yabbies you need for a fish in the pine (20-30) up on the mud near the bridge but you may have to work a bit harder than at the pin or toorbul, as for the size you always get plenty of little ones but the biguns make up for them
    Which bridge?
    Shane