Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Bream: rate the bait.

Bream: rate the bait.

I've always been one for having a good variety of bait in case one will outfish the other.

Gonna try and discipline myself to stick to one bait in my next outings in the Pine. Something to do with teaching old dogs new tricks.

Had some good fun last few trips with bream on light gear and not having fished for 'em for a long time, I was surprised how much I enjoyed the tussle on light gear so am gonna leave the pots and net at home and see how I go.

Prawn always seems to attract the pickers in there and my best bait has always been fresh strips of herring fished weightless when the water is pretty clean (by Pine standards).

Am trying to fire myself up to try something new and keep an open mind so next trip out, it's chicken gut.

How do you rate the baits for bream? Smelly, like mullet/chicken gut in coloured water? etc

An error doesn't become a mistake until you choose to ignore it.

Re: Bream: rate the bait.

MY all time fav is the Chook gut, used in conjunction with a Chicken Pellet berley.

Having said that, A live hardyhead will advance the esky tally by 40cm plus Bream. Live Herring will do it as well.

For light gear fishing for Bream, I would add a leader of about 1mtr of 20lb line. Use the Chook gut and have a plentiful supply of 2/0's on hand. They will swallow the hooks down to their ' vent ", and it is faster and easier to break the hook off, tie a new one on, and retrieve the hook during the cleaning process.

Fresh strips of Bonito will outperform just about any other bait. ssshhh !

All of the above mention baits are used .. ' un-weighted ".

Bring on Winter.............

nabs12

Hmmm...Bream on bait... Well we im no using SPs I'd say herring strips or squid works for me, fished with as light sinker as possible. I dont know why but mullet just never seemd to work for me... But fresh herring is always a top bait for bream

I'm with Phill mullet gut and chook gut,very hard to beat.

My Dad makes up some crazy dough concoction based on mullet roe. #He has the whole family on the look out for mullet roe this time of the year so he can make up his stash for the coming winter.

He has been using the recipe for 50+ years and it does seem to work.

Janine

The_Walrus

You should also try chicken breast fillet cut in strip about little finger size.

It's been the gun bait for the winter run at Caloundra for the past couple of years.

I have caught some quality bream on beef heart.

What Phill said,definately the chook gut I know it works....tried and tested!

Agree with most of the above, but when the winter bream are on the chew they will take most baits. I like strips of tailor flesh when I need some casting distance (like in the surf) and fillets of WA pilchard when distance is not an issue. A good smelly pudding mix is also a good standby and cheaper than most other baits
    Cheers Freeeedom

I agree with the bonito for big fish. Maybe not the same numbers as other bait but certainly much bigger size and a much more certain bite.

But as an all around easy to buy bait chicken breast is hard to beat.

Bream seem to take pretty much anything when they're in the mood, but my number one would definitely be mullet fillet. You can marinate it in tuna oil or whatever else you like, but it's fine on it's own too. It's also a bit hardier on the hook, which helps discourage the toadies etc in the Pine.

Having said that, I reckon you've got a good chance on the chook gut.

Good luck,

In the estuary pudding of fresh bread and mullet spoonta

In the surf pippies

Off the rocks cunji

hope this helps, when the pickers are about I like to have one rod out with mullet onion on and I use the gut chopped up with chook pellets as the burley.

Chook gut,sprats,Pieces of Pillie, fresh whole prawn, but wanna try something new , do yourself a favour and go buy some chicken breast.Cut in strips according to the size of the hook you will be using and marinate them overnnight with parmisan Cheese ..
    Give it a go and let me know how it fairs for ya..
    Dont be shy on the chees either..

anything mullet, works everytime