You could give 'Amity Banks' a try, in between catching plenty of whiting, your bound to catch a couple of flounder.
As spudie said, Amity Banks holds a few as does Chain Banks. Surprisingly enough, fishing towards the swimming enclosure off amity jetty pulled me half a dozen one day, but my favourite spot is the bank behind the X marker at the Pin.
Slow troll this rig wighted with as much weight to just to keep it on the bottom, or cast out and wind in slowly. The wieght sends up small puffs of sand which attracts their curiosity.
Depite their size, they are vicious little buggers and will eat anything. I have had fair success with garden worm.
This rig was made by the little feller but the line is heavier than I usually use 'cause he lost a big lizard last time he tried it. A long shank hook is also preferable.
As has been said, they are amongst the sweetest of eating, Simply remove the head and tail, cut off the fins with scissors and shallow fry after dipping in flour.
The spoon is just that, a plastic spoon with the handle cut off. It spins or wobbles giving the impression of a wounded flatfish.
Underneath
Caught a few over chissy, great tasting buggers.
The only problem is they were caught on the west coast of tassie, Blazes style with a light and hand spear.
Different species but same family to our sole up here
Hey Webby, what causes the pale coloured patches on your tasty catch? Was it ice burn or did they naturally have the patchiness?
They sure are good eating
I have caught 2 using rainbow 3" minnow gulps.
I think they are horrible and would just throw them back
flounder is the better eating in nz where there is a plentyful supply of both flounder fetches a higher price by a fair bit dont ask me why
Those look very similar to flounder caught in the UK. If they lay on each other in the esky they discolour just as meat does. Cold water and warm water flounder are different species.Originally Posted by Sea-Dog
The european flouunder inhabits muddy estuaries. Novices may call all flatfish flounder but there are soles, dabs, halibut and plaice which inhabit sand, as opposed to the flounder that prefers mud.
In the UK they bleed flounders on capture by slitting the lateral line at the tail.....this removes the muddy taste that some can have in brackish water.
A person can fail many times, but they are not really a failure until they start to blame someone
else.
Stuffed if i no Sea Dog, thats the way they came out of the sack after spearing them that night, no ice necessary when your in tassie.
First time i've ever hunted flounder in tassie, pretty dark night that night.
They all looked the same when we put them in the sack.
Maybe the Army could look into this camoflarge idea, as all you see is their eyes glowing when you spot them with the spottie.
You then go into stealth mode as you sneek up on one in knee deep water and hope your aim with the spear is spot on.
Kingtin, the ever reliable Kev![]()
Love the rig mate and I do remember you telling me of that bank a long time ago. I'll certainly try that spoon trick its a ripper.
Szopen, yep smoked in an old wooden fishermans hut that you had to bend your head to get into, I just remember the fingerlickingood stuff that impregnated itself in my memory for life.
Used to catch a number of Sole when drag netting for prawns/bait. Always took them home, mum swore by them. Dragging the net around the sandy bays used to get a few.
Southwind SF20 'Piscatoreous'
Savage 14ft tinny "About Time'
very nice deep fried with salt and pepper seasoning....
YUM!!!
Fishing at toorbul last week and came across a bank which had heaps of flounder. Anything we dropped over the side the took (prawn pillie, whitebait, worm). Took two of the biggest home straight into some flower and butter, absoloutely beautiful!