Thread: Jacks on SP

Jacks on SP

hey all,

wat tackle do you use to catch jacks on SP. line class, leader, jighead etc.?

any help to increase my chance of landing this awesome fish would be gladly appreciated.

thanks

robbie
    10% of people catch 90% of the fish

Re: Jacks on SP

What are you using now

currently i'm using a berkley drop shot rod with 6lb fireline and 8lbs leader.. i use small jighead 1/8oz.. but it mainly depends on the current..

gogecko

Use the search feature at the top of the page, just search on jacks. Plenty of info there.

G,day Robbie
    Mate you are way too undergunned for most situations that you will find jacks in.
    Basically you will be throwing your softies in around snags, rockwalls and around wharf/jetty pylons. You need to have enough strength in your line to be able to stop them short of cover, or to pull them out of the cover they are already in!!!
    I use a minimum of 20lb main line (heavier when bait fishing) and about a meter of 30lb mono trace.(no wire)
    You can fish lighter, and some times you will get lucky, but you will save yourself a lot of frustrating bustoffs with heavier gear! I have never found the jacks to be overly shy with the heavier line and trace.
    As far as jigheads go, I prefer to use my softies on a hook and use "sticky Weight "on the shank to achieve the desired weight for the situation,usually a very slow sink rate. Cast them into or next to the cover and twitch, twitch, twitch. keep your drag tight, and be ready to give em heaps and (hopefully ) drag them away from cover before they brick ya!! Exciting stuff, I love em!!

Regards, Tony

Darren_R

Agnes_Jack is correct. You are fishing way to light for chasing jacks. They will smoke you most times on that gear. I would recomend a minimum of 20-30lb line and probably a 50 lb leader. They will hit most small minnow sp's if placed in the right area.

wat about rod and reel type?
    thanks heaps for the info guys.. much appreciated!

robbie

try berkley realistix with a resin head jig head they make softies that look just like a small whiting deadly around the tweed rock walls my outfit that i use is a bantam curado by shimano matched with a wilson live fibre black magic rod i find this out fit very comfortable for casting and with enough grunt to turn fish from that inital run the other lads were on the money with you going too light i fish with 25lb braid with 40lb jinkai leader hope this helps

boodo

Yeah Robbie!!
    Baitcasters are the best way to go!!
    Most reasonable baitcasters will do the trick for you, no worries.
    My favorite softie for jacks at the moment are the snapbacks in red shad or texas red colors. These work well with pro-select hooks and the sticky weight.
    Snapbacks are bouyant, so they can be weighted anywhere from neutral bouyancy to sinking etc.

Regards, Tony

so shad type plastics are the way to go rather than the stick/flick baits and wriggler grubs?

i've got a spare shimano catala reel and a 2000 series 8kg, 5'6" ugly stick bait caster rod which i can start using for SP on jacks. i can always load up new braid on the reel.. you reckon this gear can do the trick?

hear from your replies soon

thanks

robbie

Re: Sticky weights

What are 'sticky weights' ? Pardon my query.

WoW

G'day WoW
    Sticky weight is a putty made from tungsten material, it is soft so you can mould it around the shank of your hook etc to give it the exact amount of weight that you require for the situation you are fishing in. It is re-usable too.
    It is distributed by the same company that does Snapback soft plastics, any shop that sells those should have the sticky weight or be able to get it for you.

Robbie
    Yeah mate that outfit will get ya started no worries at all!!
    Get some braid and use about a meter of heavier mono trace.

Regards, Tony