Fishing books

Thread: Fishing books

Fishing books

Sorry for this..........
    Have just turned 37 and discovered fishing. Dont know what i have missing out on for all these years. My problem is that i would not have a clue as to what i am doing and all the terms that are spoken of. Can anyone help with some good fishing books.

Re: Fishing books

G'day RITW
    Welcome to the disease
    You'll find plenty of info on Ausfish and plenty of people willing to help, so don't be afaid to ask basic questions.
    You'll also find plenty of beginners stuff in some of the periodical magazines.
    By far the best way to learn is to get out and do it though.
    Have a talk to your local tackle shops and see what they recommend for the areas you plan to fish.
    Then get your self a book so you can identify what you catch and the size/bag limits.
    Before you know it you'll be an expert
    Who knows, you might even realise that League is the real game
    Owen
    Owen

The whole world's mad save thee & me (but I'm not too sure about thee)

Well it will be a slightly cheaper (and earlier) mid life crisis than if you had decided on the traditional sports car or Harley, but not by much!

Also consider joining a club, hang around here, put your hand up in the going fishing thread to say you would like to go on a trip or two with some of the experienced blokes in your area.

Only 2 rules, if someone takes you or tells you about their secret fishing spot - keep it secret! and have fun.

Already have the car except SHE got it ................I just paid for it

I too discovered fishing at a late age after being pretty keen as a kid.
    I have read books and magazines and watched Rexy but have also been going out at every possible opportunity. I reckon being prepared to try different things, talking to people in the know, trying to get some marks and just going out a lot really gets you into the fish fairly quickly.

Try Ron Calcutt's Complete Book of Fishing.

Anglers Omnious is a good starter too

Welcome to our addiction!!!!
    ><((((º>.¸.•'´¯)

Life is a mystery to be lived, not a problem to be solved, Gabriel Marcel

If you go to the links section here and have a read of "How to be a better fisherman" or get a copy of the little booklet of the same name from a tackle shop . AND READ IT CAREFULLY. there is LOT of good information in it.
    rando
    Oh welcome to the forum, have fun with your fishing

kiljora

Grant's Guide to Fishes is a great book for identifying any strange looking fish you may catch. The best way I think to learn is to save up a few dollars and go on a fishing charter (not one that does large groups of people) and you'll find that most of the charter operators are willing to share there knowledge with you at the same time whilst you get hands on experience. They also know where the fish are most of the time so you don't waste half your day looking for fish to catch....

Cheers Tony

E.M Grant's complete guides to fishes.

Jay Jay
    Go mighty Broncos

Go Wallabies

Ron Calcutt's Complete Book of Fishing is definitely worth getting as it has plenty of info and is easy to read - I think you can pick it up for less than $20 if you look around.

Welcome to the world of fishing

the_baker

WHEN START CATCHING A FEW FISH ONE OTHER THING THAT WILL START TO HAPPEN IS YOUR WALLET
    WILL SHAKE IN FEAR. HAVE FUN MATE AND ALL THE BEST WITH IT ALL .

DAVE.

Dobie_65

A lot of good info to be obtained from Qld Fishing Monthly magazine available from newsagents