Thread: Wire for Wahoo

Wire for Wahoo

Well the wire debate will rage forever but my target at the moment is the Wahoo off the Gold Coast. I know plenty of people who use wire 1M or more while in Spanish Mac territory and I figure that the hoo is in the same league. Yet with the cost of fuel at the moment it may be cheaper to loose the odd lure than get less hits.
    Was at Doug Burts the other day and the guys there don't run wire (they get their lures at the right price....) I used to run 30cm of single strand but they felt if using wire then go crimped multistrand 20cm.

So trolling is expensive but if I want to boat wahoo is it better value to ditch the wire or keep it?
    I troll deep diving Halcos and a few other hardbodies so they come in at around $18each. Time is limited and fuel is exxy.

trout3030

Re: Wire for Wahoo

Check out some of the online tackle shops for cheaper Halcos. Should be able to get them for down around $13. Even with postage if you buy a few at a time it will be cheaper. Might make it a little less painful as you drive around watching that expensive fuel disappear.

I always use half a metre or so of 49 strand stainless. I am usually trolling at 10 knots or so and don't believe that the fish get the chance to have a good look at the lure, notice the wire etc.

Like you, I don't particularly want to lose too may lures(it still happens), and I also don't want to lose too many fish.

G'day BB,

Joel from Sundown Marine rigged mine up...6ft of 200lb Jinkai spliced to a 5 inch 7 strand wire rigged to some 10/0 hooks with good hardware. Works a treat in the water with the benefit of the mono and the protection of the lure with the short piece of wire although we are yet to hook up to really try it out.

rhys
    ><((((º>.¸.•'´¯)

Life is a mystery to be lived, not a problem to be solved, Gabriel Marcel

have lost plenty of lures at the swivel, so either sacrifice it for line twist or the longer wire the better

30cm of wire is all you need and yes I use multi stand and crimps. The reason for the short wire is that all you are trying to do is get the main line away from the sharp end. That way once you get a hook up and the fish swims off your connection is lying down the side of the fish and not leaving a buble trail for something else to see and then hit

steven

Steven

Gday mate,

i mainly target wahoo at this time of the year and i have found Hexheads in pink or red are the key at 5" trolled at 10 to 12 knots the come pre rigged with 200pound multistrand wire. I have found that bigger skirted lures will work but will not last, 2 or 3 fish later and the skirt is screwed.. totally eaten. But you will need min of 150pound wind on leaders for shock and 10 to 15kg line class to stop these brutes.. they can range up to 50kg..!! there be monsters out there...

another good lure that works well on wahoo is the halco giant trembler in pink but they dont last to long and tend to stop swimming correctly after a few trips. the wahoo teeth just ripp anything apart..

I fish the barwon with a billfish and wahoo spread this time of year and have been very sucessfull this season... hehe

Hope this helps..

Thanks for all the heads up and PM's guys

Speaking from personal experience, I found wahoo seemed to prefer faster lures with the skirted types having the most success. I also used the shortest length of wire possible.

Must mention that when towing skirted lures, I would always fix a crimp just in front the head of the lure, to prevent the lure running up the line and getting hit by another fish.

One guy I knew never used wire, but ganged an extra 2 hooks, and he always seemed to clean up on wahoo.

I was never that lucky, but I've landed my fair share.

Hope that helps.

Best of luck
    roz.
    GO THE CRUISER UTES!

....OH WHAT A FEELING!

Just speekin for myself towin halcos as fast as pos and i use 80pnd single strand with haywire twists. never lost a fish to wire failure but change it as soon as its damaged cause its dirt cheap.
    Ispend up on quality ballbearing swivels and get twice the hits mates get using multistrand, 30cm is heaps and the lures swim much truer.