What would you do if somone stole something from your children?
These guys are stealing fish from future generations.
Both the problem and the response of the moral person are simple.
Baldyhead,Originally Posted by baldyhead
The concerns you expressed, above, are not necessarily a problem.
When you give information to fisheries inspectors, you can state that you are NOT prepared to give evidence in court or be named in any way, and they will respect this.
The information you give, such as car rego numbers, names, addresses, methods of operation, etc. will be entered on a "known ofenders" list and all inspectors in the area will be so much the wiser and be on the lookout for them from then on.
Fisheries inspectors do not operate like the fire brigade who sit in the station waiting for a phone call. They either go on patrol looking for offenders when ever they can or use information from the public to target offenders at known times, places and so on. Information you give is absolutely vital to their successful operation.
GES
What would you do if somone stole something from your children?
These guys are stealing fish from future generations.
Both the problem and the response of the moral person are simple.
Use the 1800 number, this is what it is there for. Have got it and the local fisheries number on my mobile phone so can make a report asap. It is people like these so called "ameteurs" that stuff it up for rest of us that stick to the rules. Don't let the bad eggs spoil it for the rest of us. Dob the mongrels in.
Jeff.
My mate told me of one occasion when they had a bloke on north wall with 5 or so good jew, surrounded & told not to move until fisheries arrived, he got away with it because the fisheries bloke wouldn't get out of bed.
What a bugger, eh Steve, they could have raked him across the coals.
People get away with all sorts of stuff because of people don't have the balls to stand up for what they believe in.
Baldyhead....get some balls.
My opinion though and I've spent too much time in court with loosers.
If you've copped some retribution then I can understand you but the biggest issue with crime is people standing by and doing stuff all while someone is beaten to death.
Remember that most of the reason that amateurs are not allowed to sell their catch is to keep the "pro's" who pay big money for their licences to sell. Amateurs selling their catch for most species would not be that much of a problem. (as long as they were observing bag limits). The only difference in numbers removed from the wild would be those who catch and release. Your not exactly going to go pro catching a jewfish or two a night.
I mean whats the difference between handing out fish fillets to the neighbours when you have had a good trip, or swapping them for a bag of vegies from the neighbours garden, or getting some fuel money from the neighbours? Same amount of dead fish.
Burley Boy, i dont think Baldyhead needs too #grow some balls mate , i think he has a valid point..
Maybe we should bring you over too Russell Island to clean it up hey?
G'day feral, Now that I have said that I have not seen a fisheries inspector for 4-5 years they must have heard me. I went out Saturday evening around dark and there was a comp. on. Fisho's everywhere and guess who turned up for a very thorough inspection, The 2 inspectors, Good on em!! I guess the difference between me and some of these shamateurs is that I only take my legally allowed limit of 2 jew if I am lucky enough, and yes I do share them with family and friends as I think fresh fish is better than freezing them, BUT I have seen blokes catch their bag limit, hide them in the bushes or take them home, and come back for more and if the fish are on it's not uncommon to be able to keep catching them until you get sick of pulling them in. The jew fisho's who have worked out the moon and tides will know what I am talking about. I have caught and released big jew (and small jew) in the good old days when double figure catches could be made and only kept my 2 fish. But Sometimes It all fades into insignificance when you see a Pro boat loaded up to the gunnels with big jew from the river. Like you say, It's still the same amount of dead fish!! Cheers mate.
Everyone needs to do their bit to ensure our children and grandchildren can enjoy the best pastime on the planet.
Throw the book at em
not just jew being flogged on the black market,either. dob these pricks in they dont give a shit about the sport of fishing just making money out of it . hussy
yeah i agree with all the coment dob them in should we dob in the guys tht get bait and sell them or is that another facter, dob them all in i say { if there doining something wrong]
From observation of the previous posts, it appears a lack of fish is the common theme. To be constructive, let's not get personal and having cheap shots at each other.
Ah, the good old days! The thing we need to bring back the old days of catching a decent feed, is sustainable take on existing resources. Just a thought..Doesn't our national resources belong to the nation and its citizens? Just because an individual has a license, does that entitle you to catch every fish? Some pros behave as if they own all the fishing rights. The fact is amateur fishing is worth more to the economy than pro fishing is.
Along with others with the same views, convince others to change their ways or all we'll be doing in our boats is catching a bit of a tan or catching Grinners and Red Rockies...flatstrap
"If a tree falls in the forest and no one hears it, it's safe to keep logging." PacPines schoolboy
I reckon there is a difference between disclosure of information that is shared for the common good of all and "Dobbing" which is about the mischief of trying to get someone into trouble who really isn't doing anything detrimental to others.
Make the disclosure...you only have to see the number of threads here on fishing for the future and protecting our fish stocks to see how important it is we get this right.
Not only so, selling black market fish its doing some hard working under paid bloke whose forked out way to much for a liscence an injustice too.
Make the disclosure
><((((º>.¸.•'´¯)
Life is a mystery to be lived, not a problem to be solved, Gabriel Marcel
G'day guys, I once had a friend in Townsville who sold the fish he caught to his own family for $10 per Kg the cheeky devil.. His own mother and grandmother used to pay for their fish off him.I dont like taking alot of fish but when I do I enjoy giving them to family or friends...
Cheers Sean
The problem is, the QBFP are under funded and barely have enough funding to do day to day operations let alone black market surveilance of recreational catch.
Setting up a sting operation is very costly, sometime hazardious, hard to prove and penalities dished out by the courts are often a joke.
I agree, dob in the scum but who's going to lissen and act ???
John.