bait for barra

Thread: bait for barra

fishflogger92

bait for barra

hey everybody

just wondering what you guys would reckon is the best bait for catching salt water barra

Re: bait for barra

Only ever sean them live in a fishtank in cairns.
    love too catch one but.
    Try local live bait or the best barra lurers you can get.

sign tunaman

only ever caught them on lures and bait but i had a mate who used to cast net biggish mullet ( 25-30cm) and lob them into the mouths of gutters with a 6/0 in their lip. he used to brain them
    richard

Gold Bommers & Lazer Pro,s or if you must persist with bait three or four live banana prawns on a 10/0 the bigger the better for the prawns if there big enough to scare the bream away there almost big enough.

BigE

fishflogger92

yeah i have used pillies and live bait and also some good lures and still they don't bite [smiley=rifle.gif]

The best bait I reckon are; Poddy mullet, live prawns, and herring. Add lots of patience, some warm water 25 degrees C +, last of the run out tide or first of the run in. Combined with 4 days before the full moon and your in with a good chance.

All that said, if they are really hungry they wil eat just about anything, and blow that theory out the window. The first one always seems to be the hardest to catch.

I always fish the lightest possible, 40lb leader or less if they are scarce. if you know there are big fish around you might want to upgrade to 60lb leader. Use as little weight as possible preferably none, and don't use wire trace.

The Barra in this photo was caught in 2 feet of water on the first of the run in tide.

Good luck,

Richo

fishflogger92

looks like a good barra richo1 and i use a 60lb trace

but i do fish up at capepalmstone near sarina [smiley=laola.gif] [smiley=rifle.gif]

Quote Originally Posted by fishflogger92
    hey everybody

just wondering what you guys would reckon is the best bait for catching salt water barra

Maybe can try using popper on bara.

jim_farrell

Bait wise, live prawns have always outfished everything else for me. Live mullet second. If you are fishing a river or creek, use your sounder to find a good depression. Also use the bank to visualise the structure under water. Anchor upsteam at the top of the tide and drift baits back to the depression/ snag using correct weight for the run. Sit and wait. I always keep the line in my hand. The colder the water, the tougher it gets.
    Hope this helps. Good luck.

even though, i've never caught one, (been trying for 18mths now) i use anything live.

mullet - herring - prawns, legal bream, hardy heads... i've even used a legal grunter up in hinchibrook overnighting in missionary bay.

dabble a bit on lures, but dont really have the effort or patience to continuously flick lures, i set the baits and wait!

FisherFreak

For me coming from Townsville we used live poddy mullet for Barra in the salt or in the fresh they couldn't resist a small fish called a mouth almighty. Fished in close to the snags with the tide moving either in or out. good luck and hang in there if at first you dont succeed..
    Cheers Sean

live Tiger prawns are a long way in front of mullet.

Ray

AS the other replys state live prawns and mullet are the choise baits but if they are hard to get I have also had success on live gar as well as archer fish, have also caught them on pillies and squid but was after jew.
    Cheers Ian

25-30cm whitting can have interesting results though its often hard to keep them where u want em.

Only ever caught them on lures. Gold bombers or anything similar (loud, shiny and leave you wondering why a fish would go near it) work well up here. Lots up this way reckon lures with red throats but personally have had no luck on them. Good luck and if you dont get on down there maybe a trip up this way (NT)is in order!
    cheers Jane