Fish ID needed. - Page 2
Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Thread: Fish ID needed.

Re: Fish ID needed.

Quote Originally Posted by BobbyJ123
    G'day Panda, the link I put up goes on a bit more, click on the photo of the fish and you will see a few different types of the same species.....I think

http://www.fishbase.org/Summary/Spec...ry.php?id=7625
    Thanks Bobby,
    good to see a sensible reply in answer to my question.
    Thats the one alright. Says its a native to South Africa and Natal (wherever that is). I have caught another species around here that are not supposed to be in this part of the world.
    http://filaman.ifm-geomar.de/Photos/...5&what=species

Quote Originally Posted by rando
    Gold lined blubber -lip.
    thats the fish not you
    And Dan WAS trying to be helpful , but you can bet your boots there are people
    here who will pause before they offer you assistance again.
    Well thanks Rando,
    You certainly have been of great assistance in identifying the species.

PAYNE

certainly looks like a sweetlip.... minimum legal size 25cm for all sweetlip (with the exception of the red throat sweetlip)

Maybe you should try contacting someone at DPI and forward the pic to them via email for identification??

Quote Originally Posted by Leeann
    certainly looks like a sweetlip.... minimum legal size 25cm for all sweetlip (with the exception of the red throat sweetlip)

Maybe you should try contacting someone at DPI and forward the pic to them via email for identification??

Thats a good idea Leanne.
    The DPI fish experts may well be aware of the species existence in the area, but it would be nice to be the one to discover a new species.

About 10 years ago I caught a small black Barramundi that looked different in several ways. So I photographed it and sent it off to the QLD museum for ID. This was long before I had Internet.
    It came back that this was a separate species that rarely grows over 10 inches. Its very easy to get mixed up over similar species. Sometimes even the professional experts have trouble telling them apart. I was talking to a fisheries inspector a while back and he told me that they now believe there could be up to 4 different species of Queenfish in the Gulf. Up till then I had only known of 2. The true Queenfish which only grows up to about 40 or maybe 50 cm and the Giant Leatherskin which grows to about twice that size.

Heres a pic of one of those little black Barras all scaled and ready for the pan. I post it here now only to infuriate all those self styled fisheries conservationist/experts who might want to accuse me of now taking undersize Barra. (no need for that though I'm afraid )

Bloody delicious I might add!

Quote Originally Posted by Panda
    I have caught this species before and could not find any ID in the QLD Fisheries website or any ID in any of the books I have as stated.

As stated, I have gone to lengths to ID the species without success. Hence my appeal here.

If they were a restricted species with size limits I am sure the DPI would post it. I therefore dont feel I have to apologize for taking the species.

I ask for information re species identification and I get a reply which offers no help at all but rather implies I might be taking a fish with a restricted size limit and that I am silly. I dont take kindly to such unhelpfull replies which despite the qualifying remark of "not meaning to be rude" was obviously intended to be something of a put down.

Whats the problem of asking for a species ID here when all other available avenues are exhausted. Its not like I was a novice who went out and caught a dozen undersized bream then started asking what they were.

I have been fishing for a hobby for over 40 years and I have a pretty fair idea of whats ethical and whats not re preserving our fish stocks.
    All I asked for was an ID ON THE SPECIES. I don't need a lecture on what I should or shouldn't take. I can find that out myself on the DPI website thanks.

So please, don't bother replying if you just want to get up on your high horse and lecture me from the high moral ground from your lounge room.
    All I want is a positive ID on what species this is.

Any genuine replies related to the species ID would be appreciated. Thanks.

amazing retort...a guy tries to help and you want to castigate him...if you have been fishing for 40 years then keeping a fish of which you know nothing ain't real smart...and you have caught this fish previously then why are you asking now??

If you think this is intended as a put down..I really don't care...why not just contact DPI and ask them??? If you do not know what it is then how do you know if it is on the DPI website or not??

I will get off my high horse now (and am in my office not the lounge room)..but if you ever want another lecture..just holler..I am sure we could oblige.

Just contqact DPI or even CSIRO fisheries division.

Heres another species that according to the books is not supposed to be in Australian watrers. Pompano. Native to Africa and South America.

The photo is poor quality since it was scanned off a hard print, but I think you can get the gist of the size of these beasts. The biggest one went about 5 kg I guess. The tails to the left of the photo were Queenies who got in the way. They were feeding on 7cm sardines and wouldn't look at anyhing else. Tried conventional sized lures and live mullet, but they wouldn't look at it. So put on a 1/0 hook and hooked up a live sardine through the mouth. Dangled it in front of them when they wernt even in a feeding frenzy and one of them just swam up and sucked it down in slow motion as I watched above. I was fishing off the jetty at Weipa with a 40 pound line and landed 4 out of about 10 hook ups. Most just straightened the hooks before I could lift them. Good eating. Haven't seen them since and that was 2 years ago.

Quote Originally Posted by PinHead
    [quote author=Panda link=1150161829/0#13 date=1150171446]I have caught this species before and could not find any ID in the QLD Fisheries website or any ID in any of the books I have as stated.

As stated, I have gone to lengths to ID the species without success. Hence my appeal here.

If they were a restricted species with size limits I am sure the DPI would post it. I therefore don't feel I have to apologize for taking the species.

I ask for information re species identification and I get a reply which offers no help at all but rather implies I might be taking a fish with a restricted size limit and that I am silly. I don't take kindly to such unhelpful replies which despite the qualifying remark of "not meaning to be rude" was obviously intended to be something of a put down.

Whats the problem of asking for a species ID here when all other available avenues are exhausted. Its not like I was a novice who went out and caught a dozen undersized bream then started asking what they were.

I have been fishing for a hobby for over 40 years and I have a pretty fair idea of whats ethical and whats not re preserving our fish stocks.
    All I asked for was an ID ON THE SPECIES. I don't need a lecture on what I should or shouldn't take. I can find that out myself on the DPI website thanks.

So please, don't bother replying if you just want to get up on your high horse and lecture me from the high moral ground from your lounge room.
    All I want is a positive ID on what species this is.

Any genuine replies related to the species ID would be appreciated. Thanks.

amazing retort...a guy tries to help and you want to castigate him...if you have been fishing for 40 years then keeping a fish of which you know nothing ain't real smart...and you have caught this fish previously then why are you asking now??

If you think this is intended as a put down..I really don't care...why not just contact DPI and ask them??? If you do not know what it is then how do you know if it is on the DPI website or not??

I will get off my high horse now (and am in my office not the lounge room)..but if you ever want another lecture..just holler..I am sure we could oblige.

Just contact DPI or even CSIRO fisheries division.
    [/quote]

Thanks for the advice Pinhead.
    All regulated fish are on the DPI web site as far as I am aware. I wasn't asking if the species was regulated or not. I was actually asking if someone might be able to identify the species here. As I stated before, I did search the DPI website for regulated fish before I posted. Seems 95% of respondents here are more concerned with putting it back rather than knowing what it is. Please forgive me for asking for an ID here before going through more formal channels and going direct to the DPI. I just thought it might be quicker to enquire here. Your advice will be noted

FYI the fish as has been identified as a native of South Africa and presumably not generally encountered in Australian waters.

i can identify the species, not the fish that is, better leave it there or i'll get in trouble!!!

Quote Originally Posted by Ronnie H
    My advice is to buy yourself a Grants guide to fishes and study it carefully.
    IF IN DOUBT- why take it in the first place. Put it back and let it live another day.
    Won't elaborate how I feel on this!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    Ronnieh
    Ern Grant says this is a Gold-spot Blubberlips.

I've seen plenty that have been caught around Ballina, but never tried to eat one.

Whoo Hoo, brave boys indeed here!

You guys want to talk fish facts or you want to make little personal snipes hiding behind your computer.

Im here to talk fishing. Someone jumps to conclusions and takes a personal swipe at me, I ll take a swipe back. The man in question has backed off an doesnt need little dogs running in nipping at my heels to help him out.

I started his thread with good intentions, just looking for some information.
    If you cant post something constructive here please dont bother at all. This board doesnt need any more sniping. I think the thread is finished anyway since the fish has been identified. I dont mind a few misguided individuals, -- been one of them myself at times, but malicious buggars intent on causing mischief are a different thing.

Quote Originally Posted by Fishin_Dan
    [quote author=Panda link=1150161829/0#3 date=1150165042]
    Well you see I am not a macho man that works on the principle that big fish equals a big man.
    Unless its an exceptional species I would imagine that 35cm would be legal.
    I am not one of those people who believe that taking only the large breeding females helps to preserve fish stocks.

I can see by you icon that you must be a real big man.

Thanks for your information.
    Mate if it came down to big fish making me a man, then I'm in big trouble! The snapper in my avatar are my best I've caught. That is why they are in there.... One of the fish I chase most are bream, and the day I catch a bream the size of those snaps, then I'll be posting that as my avatar! Unless you are just calling me a fat ba$t@rd... In which case, get a life w@nker

What I was trying to say was how do you know the fish wouldn't kill you if you ate it, or if it was a no-take fish & the fisheries pulled you over...

If you want to keep doing it, go for your life. Some people just don't like being helped when their wrong do they...
    [/quote]

i don't think ya fat mate,,,just thought i'd try and cheer ya up
    can it get any better??????????????,,,,,,,,,,,,,,http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hgG_TxEPaQE

Dan's out of town for work till the weekend, so ya won't see any posts from him till probly sunday, but Panda can go on believing what ever he wants....

DaveSue_Fishos_Two

Panda, I can't believe that you have been fishing for 4o years and put a thread up asking what species a fish might be after having admitted that you have caught it before. I agree with others on this thread, I believe that you are wrong to take a fish of which you have no idea of species - length requirements - edibility - or bag limits. A simple photo would have been just as good and then release. And if that is getting on my high horse, then you can get behind and catch what comes from under the tail.

Sorry guys and ladies I can see from both views. One sees a fish decent size not comman fish but looks quite yummy, The other diehard sports fisherperson wanting to protect the resource.

I think most serious fishos like the ones who spend there time here would undoubtly know which fish or type are do not take.

My concern is I havn't seen anyone get roasted like this if they ask "Fish ID".

Guess I'm just worried if it will happen again.

Anyhow that said I would have thought it a Sweetlip of some type just by head and fin shape.

Ads

The written word can be interpreted so many ways. These TXT messages are always getting me in trouble.

Ive caught heaps of those goldlined blubber-lips over on Straddie, They form large schools around rock formatioms and can get quite large . Ive seen them up over the 5 kg mark. They put up a good fight too. Not the best table fare , but if bleed, cleaned and eaten very fresh they are passable.
    They are commonly caught on straddie at certain times of the year, Autumn, early winter if memory serves me( and are called gold lined sweetlip amongst other common names) and are definately a local(australian )species. The locals use them for worm bait.