Thread: Darwin fishing ?

Re: Darwin fishing ?

If can recomend Mark West as a top guide in Darwin. He took me round the back of the harbour catching barra in the mangrove drains on a low tide. Mackeral fishing out the front and tossing lures for GT's. I went fishing with 5 guides when I was up there and he was a standout.

I would also recomend going on a night fishing trip with Arafura charters. We went half way to timor and got to the mackeral reef when the sun was low in the sky. The mackeral bite was crazy lasting about 1 and a half hours with about 8 large mackeral landed and twice as many bite offs and bust ups. We then went back in closer to to the jew reef. The action was the same about 8 30-40lb jewies hit the deck and the same in 5kg goldies. Again i reckon that more fish were dropped than were landed. It was a great trip but there was a hell of alot of travelling involved but it paid off.

Gday Darren, mate you know i work real hard . I to am waiting for the photo's i have had heaps of follows from some big fish but they haven't latched on, i need a spear gun . I have got hold of a cast net for some livies so hopefuly this helps the fish are definately there. We are planning a trip to Mandorah next weekend which is meant to be good fishing. Snapperdan if i can save enough money for a charter i will definately do it cheers mate.

chillers

Gday all thanks heaps for all the help you guys gave me. I was unable to get a hold of anything that good and getting around was a bit hard with no car at times. If i am ever lucky enougth to get up there again i will take a boat for sure, plenty of times i seen big fish and had them hit the lures but they would never latch right on >. A cast net would have been good for bait as well. I was told the fish get less interested in lures up there when the water gets a bit colder like it was. But hey i can't use that as an excuse.

ps. thanks again and now i'm back to the spots i know

chillers

Quote Originally Posted by chillers
    I went to Stokes Hill Wharf last night for a look i went right out to the far restaurants and seen a heap of barra there feeding from the scraps that was thrown to them from diners, sadly not allowed to fish there. Mozza i am checking all the wharfs and rock walls each afternoon while waiting for my rods hopeing to get a feel for each.

Ando is the restaurant you are talking about the very first one on the left?.

ps: stills no rods yet hopefully tomorrow and Ian thanks heaps for your help.

chillers
    yeah mate it was the one of the left can't you fish there any more?

Gday Mat

I found out that you can if you go right down under it and climb down a few rocks. I couldn't get in there half the time because it was always being fished. But it did look good there oh well next time it will be a straight fishing trip no work lol.

chillers