Thread: washing boat/outboard

washing boat/outboard

after ringing the council for the second time last tuesday i finally got my answer to level 3 restrictions
    you may still use hose for earmuffs for outboards, the interesting part was the boat
    you must use a bucket to wash your boat, BUT you can use a hose with a trigger to rinse your boat
    they are not stipulating this in the paper and probably dont want it known generally, as im sure there would be a lot of whinging from the non boating fraternity

Re: washing boat/outboard

thanks for that. are all councils the same. iam in logan. i was concerned about flushing the motor. good that u can still use the muffs.

Pritch39

Thats good to hear i have been a bit worried about how I was going to wash the boat, Its a big enough pain in the bum washing the boat down after a run now without having to do it with a bucket.

Pritch

What????? some sanity at last from a the council.... they must have stuffed it up ..

Be good to get that on paper to show the council officer as he is writing out ya fine

Retired Honda Master Tech

I've got an old stirup pump from my great grandads farm that moves a good amount of water easily. Sits over the edge of the bucket, and works like an old fashioned upright tyre pump, but one handed. Reckon that might be the go.

My dad cut down a 44gal drum and made up a trolley for it years ago, I will digging it out to run the motor in after my trips from now oniI dont mind washing the boat with a bucket as long im allowed to rinse it off with a hose afterwards.

Kel

Bundy_Burp

I take my boat to car lovers or should that be boat lovers.
    There hi pressure hoses have way more power than hose at home plus they have suds if you need em I'll still use the ear muffs for the engine at home of cause but that should keep the council happy and the boat clean.
    Good luck to Got the Fever trying to move one of those old tubs around for the motor I know they can be bloody heavy . [smiley=wink.gif]

I have pushed the thing around quite a few times when my dad used to bring his boat to my place for holidays. It is heavy but I will keep it pretty close to the boat.

Kel

go the fever..............i have a cut down council bin that i used to use every now and then with macs added to lubricate the inside of the motor when flushing, but u use a lot more water filling it and the bin still has to be topped up while running the motor, so i will only use earmuffs from now on to save water

person from the bcc that gave me the information over the phone was Joanne, sorry dont know last name, but if they try to fine me i will fight it, as i can only go on the information that i was given.............

Im going to ring the redcliffe city council during the week and find out the regs they are going to bring in. Hopefully I can talk to the mayor about it, I used to work with him and he is a fisho, maybe he can give the right info in regards to what is going to happen.

Kel

I just read this on the BCC website. Appears that it definitely is OK to use ear muffs and a hose to flush your motor out. However you do need to use a bucket to wash down your bopat itself, and you have to fill the bucket directly from the tap.

http://www.brisbane.qld.gov.au/bccwr...slevel3web.pdf

Hope the link works . . .Benno

Re: washing boat

i just rang the council again and asked for a fax stating what i was told and they admitted i was given the wrong information
    you can only use ear muffs attached to the house, you must rinse boat with a bucket
    i did tell them that if i had got fined i would have gone to court to fight it on misinformation given by their staff
    sorry about passing on the wrong in formation that i was given

i would think you would waste more water by splashing a bucket around then useing a hose with a trigger on it

it makes you wonder who comes up with the policys

scotty

Scotty I hear ya.

You would definatley go through more with a bucket than a trigger hose

Steven

Steven

You will go through heaps more washing a boat or a car with buckets. My understanding it that it is more designed to just put people off washing at all. That would be where they get the overall gain.

Someone recently said something about being allowed to hose the trailer. Has anyone got any confirmed info on that? Something about being a health and safety issue as it adds danger if your bearings/brakes/springs start to rust.

If I can flush the motor and hose the trailer, I will be happy.

As for the boat, though I will use more water with buckets, I am happy enough to use buckets to splash over the gelcoat to get the salt off. Just need to get a production line going with the deckies. Should be quick enough. Off to Bunnings for a half dozen plastic buckets.