Thread: Nudgee Beach - Good or Bad ?

Fish_Fingers

Nudgee Beach - Good or Bad ?

I am looking to do an afternoons fishing this week and didn't want to travel too far from Brisbane. Someone told me that Nudgee Beach is quite productive. Anyone else find it any good? If so would you fish on the beach or on the banks of the river inlet? Any ideas what to target (use for bait etc)? Any advice appreciated...

Re: Nudgee Beach - Good or Bad ?

If you are fishing from shore, you could try the rock wall between the boat ramp and the mouth of the Kedron Brook Floodway. I have caught bream there before. If you are in a boat, have a go at the mouth of the creek emptying out on the airport side of the floodway near the mouth (Serpentine Creek?). I had a great time there anchored just upstream from the creek and fishing the run out tide by casting towards it. You can drift along the sand bars on either side of the floodway too. I've never had much luck along the forshore of Nudgee itself although I have seen a lot of whiting fishermen there. You'll see what a long shallow shelf Nudgee is if you go there at low tide. Good luck!

I have fished Nudgee a lot over the years with varying degrees of success (as it is with most spots) this time of year you can expect bream and possibbly the odd tailor, winter whiting (on the sand flats) or flathead, if you cant get yabbies, mullet has worked quite well for me, I usually fish along the rock walls as you drive past the transfer station, cast out about 10m and bring your bait back to the wall, too far out and your generally just going to get rays. Good luck

Fish_Fingers

Thanks for the help.
    I thought I might try some prawns as bait but will pick up some Mullet (Guts or Filet) instead.
    I was going to float a pilchard out and leave while I fish the area

Good luck with the fishing. I tend to use pilchards, hardiheads or whitebait depending on where I am. I was very interested in a recent post by someone who said they did well using chicken meat rubbed with garlic - I'll have to give it a try sometime!

Pritch39

Used to fish nudgee years ago but got sick of catching sting rays, although they can be quite good fun, Ihere that it produces some nice flathead also.

cheers Pritch

Went down last night fish fingers to do some cast netting for bait. Whilst I was there the missus tried out her new Rapala Barra Mag lure around the mouth of the Nudgee and lured up a 50cm Flathead. Only there about 20 mins, but showed plenty of promise.

have been to nudgee a few times, have caught some good sized flatheads there, on my last visit (low tide) i saw a flathead lie that went 60cm, would love to get to the other side of the mouth and fish the run out tide, any idea and how i could get there?

apart from owning a boat or swimming not much hope, I think you used to be able to get through from the airport side but you cant park on the airport drive anymore so it makes it a bit hard.

onehellofafisherma

Hey fish fingers, I live at shorncliffe and spend a lot of time in Cabbage tree creek, some of my bets catches have come from the edge of the sandbanks near the mouth of cabbage tree, If your in the area at low tide walk across the flats and have a go. Ive founf live worms best for whiting, pillies for everthing else and have had a good deal of sucsess with plastics on the flathead.

Quote Originally Posted by Fish Fingers
    I am looking to do an afternoons fishing this week and didn't want to travel too far from Brisbane. Someone told me that Nudgee Beach is quite productive. Anyone else find it any good? If so would you fish on the beach or on the banks of the river inlet? Any ideas what to target (use for bait etc)? Any advice appreciated...

Yea mate been there few times got heaps of sand crabs, Bream, Flathead, and rarely there is golden trevelly and of course ur regular Moses Perch

Well I decided to give it a go this morning, bugger the weather though

Not much going on, I took fresh prawns I bought last night from Woolies (most of them went into the curry)

Caught a chopper tailor, bugger all else though !

Some of the boaties heading out showed consideration, I was in my waders and waist deep, but one butt head in his 5.5mt bow rider decided he was far too important to worry about my line, or the waves he created, so I got swamped & the esky nearly got washed in (pr!ck)

Not a lot happening at Nudgee me thinks
    If men are from Mars, and women are from Venus, politicians must be from uranus ?

plenty of sharks there in the summertime ... though the people walking their dogs and letting them swim there don't seem to mind when your pulling in one after the other

Fish_Fingers

This is Fish Fingers reporting back in.
    I went to Nudgee Beach on Friday afternoon between 1pm and 5pm, used prawns, squid and pilchards (on 3 separate rigs) fishing from the bank near the mouth of the creek. Caught a whiting, bream and star gazer in this time - saw heaps of toad fish also which munched down most of my pilchards.
    It's a very muddie location and all my gear was coated in thick dark mud (I hope) - made the fish a bit unappealing and I chucked them all back.
    Thanks to everyone for your tips - next trip I will be trying Bribie surf side for Tailor or are there better locations to be had?

From the sounds of it, you were on the mud flats...

Have a look at the map attached. Details are as follows:-

* Everything inside the yellow lines is really shallow & muddy. I don't fish there (Although whiting maybe caught there I guess. Never tried though)
    * The red lines are where I've caught flathead
    * The blue lines are where I've caught bream

There are a few other little spots there that produce quite a few fish, but they're mine

Essentially you want to look for the parts of the system the fish would look for. For flathead find the sand around weed beds, drop offs, etc. For bream look for structure, drop offs, rocks, etc. It's just a matter of working out what your target species wants. The best thing to do (it was for me anyway) was to say "I'm going to get bream today" and then go and catch bream. At first you get nothing, or you get everything else, but eventually you get a couple, and it all clicks into place.

Stick with it mate. There's definately fish there...