SP,s Berkley or other?

Thread: SP,s Berkley or other?

Pritch39

SP,s Berkley or other?

Hi ,
    has any one had success with SP,s other than the berkley range for estuary use Bream, Flathead, Taylor, Trevally , Cod, etc

I have done ok on the berkley plakkys but would like to try something different.

any feed back would be greatly appreciated.

cheers Pritch

Re: SP,s Berkley or other?

I used to do ok with the Squidgies for flatties, but not too many bream. I changed over to Berkleys, and started catching heaps of different types of fish (including the flatties still). I use Zoom's and Salt Water Assassins a fair bit too...

There are a few good ones out there. Atomic make great 2" curl tails for bream, and some bigger stick baits as well (5-6"). Storm also make some bigger plastics that seem pretty good...

I don't really use too much more than Berkleys, but only because they work well, and seem to suit my "fishing style". I think different plastics suit different people. Best bet would be to try a few til you find some that work for you.

Pritch39

Fishin Dan

Thanks for the info mate,
    I use 3" minnow grubs in watermeln seed, pumpkin seed,
    & 3 " swimming mullett in the same,
    Have been using 3 " shad in pearl watermelon but cant make it work, done allright on the others though.

do you use these or something else?

I find the Toadies love the watermelon seed and pumpkin seed.

are 3" a bit optomistic for bream should I try somthing smaller?

Final question sorry to be a pain in the ass

I am using 1/8 jig heads are these too heavey for estuary fishing.

Cheers Brian

Quote Originally Posted by Pritch39
    Fishin Dan

Thanks for the info mate,
    I use 3" minnow grubs in watermeln seed, pumpkin seed,
    & 3 " swimming mullett in the same,
    Have been using 3 " shad in pearl watermelon but cant make it work, done allright on the others though.

do you use these or something else?

I find the Toadies love the watermelon seed and pumpkin seed.

are 3" a bit optomistic for bream should I try somthing smaller?

Final question sorry to be a pain in the ass

I am using 1/8 jig heads are these too heavey for estuary fishing.

Cheers Brian
    Gday Brian. I'm only a novice at these things, but here's my answers:-

1) 3" Minnow grubs in Watermelon, pumpkinseed - These are definately fish catching plastics. Alot of ABT's have been won on the 3" Watermelon placcy. I do use these as well, but not too often.

2) Toadies love watermelon & pumpkinseed - They LOVE any colour that's a little bit brown. The pumpkinseed ones are horrid for toadies. Try a Smelt Scale rather than pumkinseed They don't like them AS much I've found, but the bream do...

3) 3" too big - Not at all. I've caught lots of bream on plastics over 4" in length! I caught a bream (went 26cm) on a 6" plastic once...

4) 1/8th too heavy - Depending on what you mean by Estuary, I'd hazard a guess at yes. For creeks/rivers I use anything from unweighted worm hooks right through to 1/12th Oz. If there's a lot of current, or its pretty deep, then I might use 1/8Oz, but nothing heavier. Out in the bay I start at 1/16th if there's no run and go right up to 1/2Oz. Just think to yourself "Where are the fish that I'm chasing going to be holding"... By this I mean if it's bream you want, they are usually not right on the bottom, so keep the jigs lighter. If it's flatty, then you want to get it to the bottom.

Hopefully that's answered a few questions for you. I've written some article-things on this on my website (They're pretty crap!) in the Beginners Guide bit. Have a look, and maybe there is something in there that will help as well.

P.S - Remember - Think like a fish!