-
any spots around brisbane CBD ???
hi all,
anyone have any land-based spots around the brissie CBD - namely around the areas of auchenflower, toowong, indooropilly?...
got myself some new gear and am looking at getting out and doing some fishing?
nov-rain
-
Ausfish New Member
Re: any spots around brisbane CBD ???
Plenty of lookers, but no-one coming up with any advice.
I'd be interested in this info as well. I'm coming up to Brisvegas next week (from Canberra) and i'm wondering whether it's worth fishing the Brisbane River around the Indooropilly area.
Sam
-
How is this for a kick off, Sherwood Arborium (spell) try the pontoon there at change of tide, for bream, pike eel and maybe one or two cat fish need a lot of weight to anchor if that is what you want to do with your bait. Taylor park west side of indrops bridge has a floating pontoon same deal as sherwood. Many, many, many years ago this used to be known spot for producing big silvery fish at night, the river is on the mend who knows if this spot will fire up again.
Read the thread on the goodwill bridge in fish reports.
Angus or Mat are the guys to talk with for fishing near the city reach. They might see the thread and help out.
-
thanks shayned,
am pretty new to the aust fishing scene so looking for some place nearby to try my luck..now will have to see if angus or mat see this thread.
anyone going fishing that doesn't mind me tagging along?
-
Nov rain check your PM mate.
-
Indooropilly? There's a pontoon on the river that I've fished from a few times. Catfish, catfish, catfish. On nearly every cast I catch one. All different sizes, and you rarely have to wait 10 minutes for a hookup. Good fun but gets boring after awhile. I use prawns as bait, cast towards the middle, and fish the bottom. You might catch other species using a different strategy, but if you use my method expect heaps of catfish.