Thread: colleges crossing in winter

colleges crossing in winter

hey i am just wondering if anybody has experienced and hot fishing at colleges crossing in winter. I know in summer the small bream come up and are fun for a while but get boring after a while, now iam wondering About winter fishing i recently fished the area where i fished in summer and diddnet get a nibble. After bait didnt work i tried a soft plastic and didnt have any luck. Does any one know if there is a good place to catch decent fish e.g. Big bream, flatthead, bass, sarotoga? any thanks

Re: colleges crossing in winter

That section of the river is pretty chockers with the dreaded cornflake weed at the moment m8, went for a paddle a few weeks ago and couldnt get to any of the spots that have previously produced tarpon for me. Very sad.

true..... yeah all we were pullin up on our lures was weed. What about the creek behind the bridge and the park ?

Not really sure where you mean m8, sorry.

at colleges there is the bridge and the park behind that area there is a track that is paralell to the path.

try under the bridge on the going out tide little lures on the park side tarpon are plenty one day then none the next hit and miss

tarpon can't resist a well presented popper, I use berkly frenzys and river2sea bubble pops, heaps of fun.

BassCowboy

What ever you do mate don't listen to Smailsey, he only knows how to catch very large long tail tuna, and no they are not available in winter at colleges,
    You should look to get your flatties, possible bream. Tarpon and bass should be spawning, bream more prevalent in summer flatties will only be school sized,
    hope this helps, why not try for a shark at high tide in the creek, a really big bony bream or mullet live will see you into these guys,

Hope this helps

we were trying to get flatties the other day on lures but weed was in our way . Any places for flatties?

hey cowboy how was the swains

thought I would share a few pics I took of the river just upstream from colleges. (Yeah, that's the creek you guys were talking about... )

mmmm cornflakes

BassCowboy

The Swaines
    Was bloody awesome, saw reds GTs Spanyids good trout, tagged 1 30cm trout at night anchorage, fished in morning caught saame greedy little bastard again,

Catch up with you mate,

CHEERS
    THE COWBOY

i heard you were ill mate