-
Re: ABT Tweed Round, 8th - 9th July
2 days left, i got my new loomis today for the comp cant wate
-
look foward to meeting all you guys at the briefing, and having a fun weekend.
greg
-
Hey
I know all of you guys are probably at the briefing right now... wish i was there.
See you guys tomorow, good luck to everyone and hopefully we'll get some of us guys in the top 10.
-
hey
Well it was a great comp guys. very well run again and was very enjoyable for me. I didnt end up getting much, but i now know wat u guys were talking about with the undersize bream! its crazy the amount of 22cm bream we caught! Very frustrating > lol
Finally got to meet you guys aswell, great to be able to put faces to names.
-
So how did the ausfish boys go in the comp? Is someone gonna write a summary?
Did iank clean up again? Did Dan get a fish yet?
-
G'Day everyone,
I thought that I would do a quick round up of the comp. Please note that I was not fishing but working in the scoring tent for ABT so it would be good if any of the fishers could put up a post of their own on how they fished and how they went etc.
Right first thing first - the Ausfish scoreboard (I took the names from our post so sorry anyone I missed)
Boaters
Mick Torley (Dodgy_Back) 6/10 fish 2.23 kg
Brad Holman (Brad_H) 3/10 fish 1.02 kg
John Thwaites (John T) could not make it
Non Boaters
Ian Krenske (iank) 4/10 fish 1.62 kg
Mat Anderson (mat_anderson04) 2/10 fish 0.92 kg
Daniel Blunden (Fishin Dan) 2/10 fish 0.58 kg
Nabeel Issa (nabs) 1/10 fish 0.31 kg
Greg Deeth (john_steward) 1/10 fish 0.31 kg
Gary Fooks (Gary Fooks) 0/10 fish
A good competition was had by all. Quite a few fish were weighed in over the two days. The size limit was varied slightly for this Tweed competition (normally on the Tweed the size limit is 25 cm to the fork). ABT amended the limit to 23 cm to the fork with a total lenght of 25 cm. The Tweed has always been known for it's undersized fish and this was why ABT changed the limit for this competition.
The Tweed was it's usual unpredicable self with the fishing on the second day harder than the first. There didn't seem to be any rhym nor reason to what they were being caught on and in the end it was a case of if you were lucky enough to have your lure/plastic in the right area and the fish were hungry then you got them. There were a lot of reports of undersized fish being caught especially those around the 22.5 cm (fork length) size.
Boats seem to spread out everywhere over both days, with those fishing the lower reaches seeming to do better than those fishing the higher reaches. There were a couple of spots producing a good number of fish and these were evident by the amount of boats in the vacinity and the follow the leader like drifts going on.
Overall it was a great competition with fishers learning alot. Mick Torley was our highest placed boater with Ian Krenske our highest placed non boater. Well done to everyone who caught fish and especially to those who caught their first fish in a competition. Great work everyone.
Now just as an aside - the Grand Final at Ballina. Ian Krenske has already qualified and did so in the Gold Coast round. Mick Torley is travelling to Adelaide to fish in Sep to see if he can make it so make sure that you give him all the support that you can. Mick is going down as a non boater but it would be great if there were any Ausfishers down there could give him a bit of a heads up as to what is working.
Well done everyone and good luck to those still with competitions to come.
Nomes
-
Ausfish Gold Member
Wow
Now that was one good report Naomi.
Be sure you give Ian a few lessons.
-
-
The amount of undersize bream i caught was depressing, not to mention the number tailor, flathead and whiting caught compared to the one measly legal bream i weighed in. Thats fishing though, at least the weekend weather was perfect, couldnt have asked for better and as usual i found myself with two boaters that were more than happy to help out with whatever they could which makes the weekend even more enjoyable.
-
Great report nomes, thx for that.
Go Dan, rocketing up the ausfish leader board Well done mate.
-
-
my sunday was a shocker to... leading the 1st day by 10grams as non boater with 5/5 bream 2.29kgs on my first abt comp...
then sunday came and i couldnt get a single legal bream... so i dropped to 9th... all i got was a load of legal tailor and flathead... oh and one massive fat ugly porkipine fish!
saturday was great though... about 30 bream around 20 of them being legal and 3 trevs and 3 flatties... only up graded twice and it was just enough to grab 1st
still an awesome comp though... cant wait till the next tweed/ gold coast round
cheers, troy
-
Oh yeh, Troy was the best of all of us. First comp too!
Well done!
-
-
great weekend whereever you came, heaps of fish (even though legals were hard to come by), heaps of fun,